Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
19th Century UK Periodicals is a multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
New
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
  • References can be downloaded into EndNote
New
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
New
A collection of manuscript collections consisting of British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic service records relating to Asian countries during the nineteenth century. A selection of Asian missionary correspondence and journals is also included.
New
A digitized collection of about 4000 pamphlets (of 50 pages or less) held at the Oliveira Lima Library at the Catholic University of America, published chiefly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The pamphlets cover Brazilian and Portuguese history, politics, literature, and other important subject areas in the form of speeches, flyers, official decrees, sermons, poems, plays, concert and theater programs, and more.
New
British Library Newspapers consists of collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.
New
The British Pharmacopoeia contains monographs which set out the mandatory standards for active substances, excipients and formulated preparations, together with General Notices, Appendices (test methods, reagents, etc) and Reference Spectra.
New
The British Politics and Society archive of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) contains primary source documentation that enhances a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. The archive is composed of a number of individual collections, drawn together from a variety of sources.
New
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.
New
Chatham House Online Archive provides a searchable, browseable research environment that enables users to explore approximately half a million pages and over 90 years of research, analysis and commentary originating from the Royal Institute of International Affairs.
New
Children's Literature and Childhood provides a range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century. Included in the archive are books and periodicals for children, primers and other material related to education, pamphlets produced by child welfare groups, documents and photos related to children and crime, newspapers produced by youths, and more.
New
China and the Modern World is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.
New
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 is an archive comprising more than 2 million pages. It contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, some of the printed matter very scarce. The archive unites a number of geographic areas, reflecting the widespread impact of the changes in crime and its policing during the long nineteenth century.
New
Digital Scholar Lab is an online tool for collecting data sets comprised of content from the subscribing institution's Gale Primary Sources subscriptions. Those data sets can then be analyzed using text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab.
New
A digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
New
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy relating to the colonial conquest of Africa.
New
The Corvey Collection includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles. The collection is sourced from the library of Victor Amadeus, Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg. The Collection comprises one of the pre-eminent archives of the Romantic era, including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more, with a focus on difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers.
  • References can be downloaded into EndNote
  • Resource offers text-to-speech conversion for HTML format
New
Gale General OneFile curates a broad collection of general interest periodicals, news articles, magazines, books, academic journals, images, audio and video to support general interest research and exploration.
New
An interface that allows searching across any combination, or all, of Griffith University's Gale Primary Sources holdings, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of Modern Law, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, British Library Newspapers, Women's Studies Archive, and more.
New
Heydon on Contract, on the Westlaw platform, provides a detailed analysis of the law of contract for Australian practitioners. Its extensive coverage includes legal issues impacting on the formation of the contract and its terms, vitiating factors, public policy, performance and discharge through to remedies for breach.
New
Indigenous Peoples: North America provides users with an informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.
  • References can be downloaded into EndNote
New
Thousands of scholarly ebooks, particularly frontlist titles in the areas of Education, Film Studies, History, Language and Literature, Law, Music, Philosophy and Sociology, as well as ebooks in Sustainability (Environmental History, Policy, Law and Science, Climate Change, and Sustainable Business). Select a subject area from the Subjects page and click the Books tab to browse ebook titles or execute searches on that set of ebooks.
  • High level of Australian content
  • Alerts are available
New
JustisOne combines the full text content of Justis and the power of the case citator JustCite into a single database. The Justis database includes a comprehensive collection of cases from common law jurisdictions around the world. UK case law coverage is from 1162 and UK legislation from 1235. Australian case law coverage is from 1986.
New
he American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted.
New
This archive, which complements the collection of treatises found in Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, provides an interpretive analysis with books on codes, the "primary sources" of law.
New
This resource includes pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs on foreign, comparative and international law, sourced from the collections of the law libraries at Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia University.
New
Expands dramatically the range of legal primary source documents available to researchers. This collection significantly deepens critical understanding of social, economic, political, and historical issues by surfacing over half a million pages of briefs from appellants, appellees, and supporters (amicus briefs), with their respective replies, as well as appendices, memoranda, petitions, plaintiff statements, transcripts, and more from the various circuits of the U.S. Courts of Appeals.
New
Originally derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926.
New
Part I, 1620-1926: Contains more than 1,300 individual titles sourced chiefly from the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, with additional materials provided by the Law Library of Congress. Its 1.8 million pages span over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, municipal codes, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents. -- Part II, 1763-1979: Extends this acclaimed archive into the second half of the twentieth century with more than 1.6 million scanned pages drawn from the three world-class American law libraries: the Harvard Law School Library, the Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress.
New
This archive contains unofficially published accounts of trials, official trial documents, briefs, and arguments as well as official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitrations from England and America.
New
The Making of the Modern World documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world from the last half of the fifteenth century to the beginning of the twentieth century.
New
A collection of English and American nineteenth-century maps and travel literature
New
Oxford Bibliographies in International Relations to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field.
New
Oxford Bibliographies in Political Science to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field. As Oxford Bibliographies in Political Science grows, it will reflect the impact on political science of major political transformations in the world and of methodological advances.
New
Oxford Handbooks Online in Criminology and Criminal Justice brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. Revolutionary changes to the publishing program means that, for the first time, all Oxford Handbooks in Criminology and Criminal Justice are available online as well as in print. Monthly updates introduce articles in advance of print publication and beyond the book, online-only content ensures the most current, authoritative coverage anywhere.
New
Photography: The World through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe.
New
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements.
New
Current refugee crises figure prominently in world media. However, the history of refugee crises throughout the twentieth century remains largely untold through primary sources. With Refugees, Relief and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II, Gale chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together over 650,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II
New
This resource brings together monograph and manuscript collections into a single, searchable environment to help scholars examine religion’s influences on the shaping of politics, law, economics, and social mores. Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society highlights social science scholarship that helps students, faculty, and researchers better understand the relationship between religion and society.
  • References can be downloaded into EndNote
  • Alerts are available
New
SAGE Research Methods-Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the research process. Topics include research design, survey research, qualitative data collection, variance analysis, normal distribution, SPSS and more.
New
This archive of documents covers one of the most vibrant and creative periods in scientific research and discovery, the long nineteenth century. The modern researcher can exploit the more than 3.5 million pages of journal, books, reports, and personal documents to explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge.
New
This second part of the Science, Technology, and Medicine archive includes some three million pages of scientific material from the late seventeenth century through the first quarter of the twentieth century, with a primary focus on the nineteenth century. The collection is divided into four major parts: academies of science publications, natural history, public health, and entomology.
New
  • References can be downloaded into EndNote
  • Alerts are available
New
SPORTDiscus With Full Text provides full text dating back to 1985 for over 500 of the journals indexed in the SPORTDiscus database.
  • References can be downloaded into EndNote
New
The complete archive of books in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Law published by Springer Nature from 1840 to 2015, available on the SpringerLink platform. To browse ebooks by subject area, choose a subject from the SpringerLink menu, then narrow the results by content type Book. To see only those ebooks to which the Library has fulltext access, untick the box 'Include Preview-Only Content'.
New
The complete run of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2014, on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
New
Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
New
Using a wide array of primary source documents—serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals—Women: Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective.
New
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean provides full text, searchable access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean.
Loading...
title
Loading...