Find the best library databases for your research.
Individual users are responsible for ensuring that they use online resources only as permitted under the terms and conditions of the licence agreements. When users connect to online resources, they are accepting the terms and conditions of use. They should also use online resources according to the Griffith IT Code of Practice.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Alternate Name(s):Adam Matthew Explorer, AM Digital Federated Search
Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source products for the social sciences and humanities. AM Explorer (Adam Matthew Digital Federated Search) is the gateway to a broad and diverse range of primary source content spanning the fifteenth to twenty-first centuries.
Covers all aspects of business, commerce, finance, accounting, marketing, management and economics, with full text and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals. In addition to essential peer-reviewed journals, business students can access case studies, country economic reports, SWOT analyses, market research reports and industry and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts.
Alternate Name(s):World Cultures, Human Relations Area Files world cultures
A systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Curated by Editor-in-Chief Valerie Steele, Director of the Museum at FIT in New York, this resource showcases more than 775,000 newly-digitized and high-quality images that feature forty years of contemporary fashion history along with a timeline, lesson plans, and videos to create a rich educational resource.
Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive exhibits almost 3,000 fashion shows presented in Paris, London, New York, and Milan by 460 international designers, and covers the period 1979 to 2003. Each video features extensive indexing and captioning to enable search, browse, and enhanced discoverability.
The Film and Media collection spans feature films, experimental films, documentaries and interviews with film practitioners (Jane Campion, Milos Forman, Nicolas Roeg, Len Lye, Joseph Losey, Robert Altman, Lindsay Anderson, Agnes Varda, Alfred Hitchcock, the Maysles Brothers), and documentaries on sound and lighting, television editing and beyond. Highlights include ground-breaking avant-garde films by Fluxus, Chris Petit and others.
IBISWorld for Australia provides insights on Australian industries, companies, and key business indicators. Included are Australian industry reports that cover key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance. Segments available are: Australian Industry Reports (ANZSIC), Australia Specialized Industry Reports, Australia SME Industry Reports, Australia Business Environment Profiles, and Australia & New Zealand Enterprise Profiles.
JoVE is a peer-reviewed online journal publishing video-based research and teaching resources in a wide variety of scientific and medical disciplines.
Griffith University subscribes to these JoVE modules only: JoVE Core: Biology, and Molecular Biology JoVE Lab Manual: Biology JoVE Science Education: Clinical Skills JoVE Journal: Bioengineering, and Neuroscience.
The JoVE Journal modules can be accessed from the Research link in the top menu of the JoVE home page. The other modules (Core, Lab Manual and Science Education Clinical Skills) can be accessed from the Education link in the top menu.
Nearmap consists of high quality PhotoMaps over Australian cities and towns that are updated monthly. Changes over time can be seen using TimeView on the map page and locations can be seen from the side using the MultiView button on the map page when zooming in to building level detail.
To sign into Nearmap, enter your Griffith University email address.
Delivers highly topical and comprehensive technology and business learning solutions across enterprise, consumer, and university channels. Resources include articles, ebooks, video, online courses and case studies.
Provides access to the research performance of research institutions globally. Able to visualise research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop collaborative partnerships and analyse research trends.
These collections, underpinned by an overarching taxonomy, have been designed to fit together seamlessly so that access to any combination of them provides a rich experience for users of all levels. Users can enjoy a diverse range of content types including textbooks, reference, primary material, monographs, pedagogical tools and multimedia. The Bloomsbury Visual Arts hub will provide an engaging, one-stop study and research environment with the needs of both users and administrators at its heart.