19th Century UK Periodicals is a multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
Series 1, New Readerships, provides insight into the evolving life of British culture, at a time when reading for leisure, women’s rights, children’s entertainment, and sports increased alongside the growth of publishing. Titles like Hearth and Home; Good Works for the Young; Punch; and Baily’s Monthly Magazine of Sports and Pastimes, and Racing Register, track the expansion of humour, education, and hobbies. Series 2: Empire: Travel and Anthology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial, addresses expansionism, perspectives on power, governmental theory, and cultural transmission, while providing students, researchers, and enthusiasts with unprecedented online access to both the economic and non-mercantile aspects of the Romantic and Victorian eras.
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
To search only on one, two or three of the four subcollections, go to Advanced Search and select the subcollection(s) in the 'By Archive' dropdown menu.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
A collection of manuscript collections consisting of British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic service records relating to Asian countries during the nineteenth century. A selection of Asian missionary correspondence and journals is also included.
A digitized collection of about 4000 pamphlets (of 50 pages or less) held at the Oliveira Lima Library at the Catholic University of America, published chiefly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The pamphlets cover Brazilian and Portuguese history, politics, literature, and other important subject areas in the form of speeches, flyers, official decrees, sermons, poems, plays, concert and theater programs, and more.
British Library Newspapers consists of collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.
For decades, even hundreds of years after publication, researchers of all kinds, all over the world, turn to newspapers for information relating to a widest variety of research needs. The rise of newspapers in Britain was a phenomenon which characterized a new age. The newspaper was increasingly a medium for information required by the commercially minded societies of major cities and regional centers. Taken as a whole, the huge production of newspapers in Britain provides an enormous resource for research on all subjects for all of the U.K., both urban and rural. The bulk of advertising, particularly for new books and theatrical performances, has proved especially useful to historians. Cultural trends, political currents and social problems are reflected in the newspapers and give new freshness and immediacy to the historic events.
The British Pharmacopoeia contains monographs which set out the mandatory standards for active substances, excipients and formulated preparations, together with General Notices, Appendices (test methods, reagents, etc) and Reference Spectra.
The British Politics and Society archive of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) contains primary source documentation that enhances a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. The archive is composed of a number of individual collections, drawn together from a variety of sources.
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.
Chatham House Online Archive provides a searchable, browseable research environment that enables users to explore approximately half a million pages and over 90 years of research, analysis and commentary originating from the Royal Institute of International Affairs.
Subject-indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs will allow users to quickly retrieve and analyze material relevant to their own research or study. Users will also have access to the full-text of Chatham House's publications and audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts.
Children's Literature and Childhood provides a range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century. Included in the archive are books and periodicals for children, primers and other material related to education, pamphlets produced by child welfare groups, documents and photos related to children and crime, newspapers produced by youths, and more.
Curated by experts in the field of children's literature, this unique assemblage of material is sourced from such renowned institutions as the University of Florida's Baldwin Library Collection of Historical Children's Literature, the National Archives (UK), and the British Library, among others.
China and the Modern World is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.
Consisting of monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, ephemera, and other kinds of historical documents, these collections provide excellent primary source materials for the understanding and research of the various aspects of China during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, such as diplomacy/international relations, economy/trade, politics, Christianity, sinology, education, science and technology, imperialism, and globalization.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 is an archive comprising more than 2 million pages. It contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, some of the printed matter very scarce. The archive unites a number of geographic areas, reflecting the widespread impact of the changes in crime and its policing during the long nineteenth century.
The collection covers Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes and includes material in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and German. Using this archive, it is possible to trace the influence of a legal judgement or development of a penal methodology through various different jurisdictions. The archive also unites a number of disciplines, from law, criminology, and history to studies of popular culture and fiction.
Digital Scholar Lab is an online tool for collecting data sets comprised of content from the subscribing institution's Gale Primary Sources subscriptions. Those data sets can then be analyzed using text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab.
Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more.
When logging in, choose 'Sign in with Microsoft' to sign into your Griffith Microsoft account.
A digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy relating to the colonial conquest of Africa.
The Corvey Collection includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles. The collection is sourced from the library of Victor Amadeus, Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg. The Collection comprises one of the pre-eminent archives of the Romantic era, including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more, with a focus on difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers.
Gale General OneFile curates a broad collection of general interest periodicals, news articles, magazines, books, academic journals, images, audio and video to support general interest research and exploration.
An interface that allows searching across any combination, or all, of Griffith University's Gale Primary Sources holdings, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of Modern Law, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, British Library Newspapers, Women's Studies Archive, and more.
Heydon on Contract, on the Westlaw platform, provides a detailed analysis of the law of contract for Australian practitioners. Its extensive coverage includes legal issues impacting on the formation of the contract and its terms, vitiating factors, public policy, performance and discharge through to remedies for breach.
Indigenous Peoples: North America provides users with an informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.
Researchers can explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
Thousands of scholarly ebooks, particularly frontlist titles in the areas of Education, Film Studies, History, Language and Literature, Law, Music, Philosophy and Sociology, as well as ebooks in Sustainability (Environmental History, Policy, Law and Science, Climate Change, and Sustainable Business). Select a subject area from the Subjects page and click the Books tab to browse ebook titles or execute searches on that set of ebooks.
JustisOne combines the full text content of Justis and the power of the case citator JustCite into a single database. The Justis database includes a comprehensive collection of cases from common law jurisdictions around the world. UK case law coverage is from 1162 and UK legislation from 1235. Australian case law coverage is from 1986.
NOTE: Individual personalized accounts for JustisOne are not available under Griffith University's subscription. The 'Sign in as yourself' link is not relevant for Griffith University students and staff.
he American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted.
Covering the years from before the ACLU’s official founding in 1920 through the 20th century, this archive offers an array of primary source materials on some of the most important issues that affected the United States.
This archive, which complements the collection of treatises found in Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, provides an interpretive analysis with books on codes, the "primary sources" of law.
Part I focuses on Europe, including regulations, session laws, journals, and codes and commentaries. Included codes fall into several categories, such as Administration of Justice, Civil Law, Commercial Law, Military Law, and others. Part II covers United States state and territorial codes, municipal codes, and constitutional conventions and compilations. The collection also includes commentaries on codes, drawn from Spain, Portugal, Italy, Latin America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia.
This resource includes pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs on foreign, comparative and international law, sourced from the collections of the law libraries at Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia University.
nternational Law constitutes the largest category in the archive. It corresponds mainly to the period of Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, with classics since the sixteenth century, including works by Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, Wheaton, among many others. Foreign Law encompasses foreign legal treatises of a variety of countries. Because the term "treatise" is more of a common-law category, the equivalent works in civil-law systems may have other names such as commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften. Comparative Law compares more than one legal system and includes Ancient, Roman, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law. The collection recognizes that the roots of English common law will be found in the deep recesses of European history.
Expands dramatically the range of legal primary source documents available to researchers. This collection significantly deepens critical understanding of social, economic, political, and historical issues by surfacing over half a million pages of briefs from appellants, appellees, and supporters (amicus briefs), with their respective replies, as well as appendices, memoranda, petitions, plaintiff statements, transcripts, and more from the various circuits of the U.S. Courts of Appeals.
Originally derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926.
Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history, including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.
Part I, 1620-1926: Contains more than 1,300 individual titles sourced chiefly from the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, with additional materials provided by the Law Library of Congress. Its 1.8 million pages span over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, municipal codes, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents. -- Part II, 1763-1979: Extends this acclaimed archive into the second half of the twentieth century with more than 1.6 million scanned pages drawn from the three world-class American law libraries: the Harvard Law School Library, the Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress.
This archive contains unofficially published accounts of trials, official trial documents, briefs, and arguments as well as official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitrations from England and America.
The Making of the Modern World documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world from the last half of the fifteenth century to the beginning of the twentieth century.
It assists in understanding the competition for empire and the projection of European power from 1500 to the early twentieth century, and the historical underpinnings integral to the study of economics and European imperialism. Four modules may be searched individually or together: Part 1, The Goldsmith's-Kress Collection 1450-1850; Part 2, 1851-1914; Part 3, 1890-1945; and Part 4, (1800-1890).
A collection of English and American nineteenth-century maps and travel literature
The Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature archive includes a myriad of maps representing the long nineteenth century. Selections have been culled from the vast map repositories of the British Library and the National Archives at Kew. In addition to these large map collections, maps representing the Americas, and in particular America's westward expansion, have been provided by the American Antiquarian Society. Maps depicting Canada and the polar regions have been generously provided by the University of Alberta. Bryn Mawr's extensive collection of European Travel accounts provides a sweeping glance of the travel narrative genre. In addition to the Bryn Mawr Collection, selected travel narratives have been included from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society and the British Library.
Oxford Bibliographies in Political Science to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field. As Oxford Bibliographies in Political Science grows, it will reflect the impact on political science of major political transformations in the world and of methodological advances.
Oxford Handbooks Online in Criminology and Criminal Justice brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. Revolutionary changes to the publishing program means that, for the first time, all Oxford Handbooks in Criminology and Criminal Justice are available online as well as in print. Monthly updates introduce articles in advance of print publication and beyond the book, online-only content ensures the most current, authoritative coverage anywhere.
Photography: The World through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe.
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements.
It has been sourced from distinguished libraries and archives across the world but also premiers some previously hidden treasure troves. With an extensive scope of content focused on political extremism and radical thought, this archive covers a broad assortment of both far-right and left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera, which allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements in new and innovative ways and to understand what impact they have had on today's society.The collections cover a period of just over a century (1900s to 2010s) when the world saw the formation of several civil rights movements for the rights of minorities, women's rights, and gay rights. It also encompasses the rise and fall of a number of peripheral groups deemed 'extreme' or 'radical' by contemporaries, such as anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, white supremacist, and white nationalist. Global in scope, although the archive presents materials largely from the US and Britain, it also showcases important factions from Europe and Australia, such as the Norwegian Nazi Party and the Australian National Socialist Party. By spanning multiple geographic regions, the resource shows both the cultural impact of radical groups at a national level as well as the international networking and cross-border exchanges of extreme political movements. Extremist literature has always been difficult to find because its authors intend the material for a limited number of true believers. Consequently, print runs tend to be small and erratic or materials are intentionally ephemeral in nature, for instance stickers, leaflets, or pamphlets. In most instances it has taken a dedicated effort to amass and organize collections of this type. These records provide a unique, behind-the-scenes view of often inaccessible groups, such as the John Birch Society or the Black Panther Party.
Current refugee crises figure prominently in world media. However, the history of refugee crises throughout the twentieth century remains largely untold through primary sources. With Refugees, Relief and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II, Gale chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together over 650,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II
This resource brings together monograph and manuscript collections into a single, searchable environment to help scholars examine religion’s influences on the shaping of politics, law, economics, and social mores. Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society highlights social science scholarship that helps students, faculty, and researchers better understand the relationship between religion and society.
Researchers can explore religious and philosophical movements that resulted in reaction to the dramatic changes in culture and society brought on by the Industrial Revolution and modern advancements. Topics covered include positivism, freethought, alternative Christianity, and the application of social principles of Christianity to everyday life by a variety of denominations.
SAGE Research Methods-Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the research process. Topics include research design, survey research, qualitative data collection, variance analysis, normal distribution, SPSS and more.
This archive of documents covers one of the most vibrant and creative periods in scientific research and discovery, the long nineteenth century. The modern researcher can exploit the more than 3.5 million pages of journal, books, reports, and personal documents to explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge.
Changes can be traced from the Newtonian world to that of Einstein, from the horse to the automobile, from medical treatments based on humors and bloodletting to antiseptics and epidemiology. This archive covers every aspect of nineteenth-century science. The documents collected represent the most theoretical pursuits as well as practical applications and popular science.
This second part of the Science, Technology, and Medicine archive includes some three million pages of scientific material from the late seventeenth century through the first quarter of the twentieth century, with a primary focus on the nineteenth century. The collection is divided into four major parts: academies of science publications, natural history, public health, and entomology.
Taken together, the documents in this collection offer students and scholars a rare window onto the development of modern science and its methods. Of particular utility to all scientific researchers is the unique collection Academies of Science Publications, which runs from 1665 to 1925.
It consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering slave trade history. The archive is not just valuable to researchers in African history, but the wider scope of African studies and African-American studies, making it an unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never-before-available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
SPORTDiscus With Full Text provides full text dating back to 1985 for over 500 of the journals indexed in the SPORTDiscus database.
SPORTDiscus With Full Text provides full text dating back to 1985 for over 500 of the journals indexed in the SPORTDiscus database. Subject coverage includes physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, and occupational health and therapy.
The index-only part of the database Includes over 750,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses; and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
The complete archive of books in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Law published by Springer Nature from 1840 to 2015, available on the SpringerLink platform. To browse ebooks by subject area, choose a subject from the SpringerLink menu, then narrow the results by content type Book. To see only those ebooks to which the Library has fulltext access, untick the box 'Include Preview-Only Content'.
The results can be further refined by sub-discipline, or by a publishing date range by clicking the Date Published option in the top menu and entering Start Year and End Year.
Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
The first module in the Women’s Studies Archive, Issues and Identities traces the path of women’s issues from past to present, pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Module 2, Voice and Vision, builds on the platform started with Issues and Identities and brings yet more female voices to the forefront. Particular attention has been paid to the mediums through which women have created a voice for themselves, with female-authored literature, journals and magazines that were produced by women, not just for women. Looking beyond simply women’s suffrage, the archive covers multiple areas that are of key importance to the study of women’s history from a diverse and global perspective, from the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism, and political activism, to domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce, and social reform.
Using a wide array of primary source documents—serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals—Women: Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean provides full text, searchable access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean.
The scope ranges from the colonial period to the present and includes monographs, manuscripts, pamphlets, letters, expedition records, journals, periodicals, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, newspaper accounts, news feeds, audio and video, and more.