Library guides: Public health: Journal articles

Journal articles

Key journal databases

Journal databases index and often provide abstracts and/or the full text of articles in a wide range of journals in a discipline. Search these to find journal articles on your research topic.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive database of journal articles and other publications for nursing and allied health. Coverage includes nursing specialties, speech pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals, with extensive full-text coverage available for over 1,200.

MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimized for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is one of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. MEDLINE provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
Embase
Includes journals and other publications in the biomedical sciences.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Find journal articles and theses relating to health administration, hospitals, health insurance, law, personnel management, public health policy and health economics.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Health and Medical collection (ProQuest)
Journal articles about health care, medicine and biomedical topics including consumer health and health administration.
PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/
Health Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for nursing, allied health and medicine. NOTE: Coverage - 1967 to present.
Informit Health Collection offers a collection of full text Australian journals, books, conference papers and reports, as well as full text indexing of material from New Zealand, Southeast Asia and the Pacific, on a range of allied health topics. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. NOTE: Coverage - 1977 to present.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Access a range of nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, multimedia and consumer health information.
3 simultaneous user limit.

Key journals

There are many journals related to public health available in the library collection. Listed below are some of the key sources of information for this discipline:

Public health

Journal articles

Key journal databases

Key journals

Find articles in CINAHL