This database provides a clear, concise and practical statement of the law of evidence. The work contains 56 alphabetically arranged chapters, each chapter being a self-contained treatment of a discrete topic, supported by comprehensive extracts from relevant High Court, New South Wales Court of Appeal and Supreme Court decisions. Reference is also made to English decisions where required.
Specifically designed to be a database for trial counsel. Whether prosecuting or defending, the database enables you to identify and make submissions upon the correct directions to be given to juries. It is equally useful in magistrates or summary courts and hence is useful for judges and magistrates in order to ensure they apply the correct law.
Practitioners, students, police, criminologists and sociologists will all find this publication an invaluable reference tool in assisting in their understanding of the complexities of the Queensland Criminal Code.
Criminal Law News Queensland provides up-to-date coverage of criminal law developments in Queensland. Content includes case digests of significant High Court, Supreme Court and Court of Appeal Decisions relating to criminal law. It also contains accounts of legislative amendments and short articles on issues relevant to day to day criminal practice.
This database includes annotated legislation and detailed commentary which comprehensively covers the procedure, practice and rules of evidence relating to criminal law in South Australia. Annotations are constructive and concise, and contain the latest relevant authorities, often unreported, which help to make it a useful tool for practitioners.
This database sets out the principal provisions of the statutes governing the substantive and procedural criminal law of Western Australia and extends to many statutory offences which are not to be found in the Criminal Code: drugs, firearms, police and road traffic. The service embraces both indictable and summary offences and trials and provides a comprehensive cover of all aspects of criminal procedure. It extends to criminal evidence.
A practical and comprehensive practitioner database covering important summary and indictable legislation in NSW. Legislation is reliably and quickly updated. Contains informative commentary and practical features to make research easier, e.g. elements of the offence and forms of indictment for the Crimes Act, introductory sections on sentencing, trial procedure and victims.
This database combines authoritative commentary (Vol. 1) with the full text of the Evidence Acts and relevant extracts of the Crimes Act or Criminal Code of each Australian jurisdiction (Vol. 2). Commentary has been revised throughout to sharpen the Australian focus of the work and incorporate reference to Evidence Acts 1995 of the Commonwealth and New South Wales.
Federal Criminal Law encompasses the Commonwealth Crimes Act, narcotics, customs offences, corporations, tax offences, migration and social security offences. The journal also contains in extract form most federal offences in Commonwealth legislation.
Previously Watson and Watson Australian criminal law : federal offences. The most comprehensive publication on the subject of Commonwealth criminal law, this service is divided into three sections: section 1 - legislation and commentary on major areas of Commonwealth criminal law; section 2 - legislation and commentary on practice and procedure; and section 3 - information on all other Commonwealth Acts which contain offences.
A guide to practising in the criminal jurisdiction of the Queensland Magistrates Court. Annotated key legislation included in this service includes: Justices Act 1886; Penalties and Sentences Act 1992; Bail Act 1980.
Ross on Crime Seventh Edition is the only Australian work that considers all aspects of criminal justice - substantive criminal law, criminal procedure, evidence and sentencing - and which does so across all Australian jurisdictions.
The Australian criminal reports contain an extensive collection of criminal cases from the High Court and Federal Court of Australia, and the Supreme Courts of the States and Territorities. Comprehensive headnotes from a team of expert reporters highlight the key issues of each case.
This database contains decisions of the Magistrates Court of Queensland. Decisions are usually sent on a weekly basis. Decisions are also available at the Court site. See the Court site for further information.
This guide contains links to Internet resources and documents in the area of federal criminal law, as well as providing links to other guides and directories which contain material on overseas law. The guide also contains links to resources on firearms law.
Various accounts of the history of the Queensland Criminal Code - Sources for the Queensland Criminal Code - Queensland Parliament : Parliamentary debates, second reading speeches etc - Criminal Code Act 1899.
The Crime and Corruption Commission (CCC) is a statutory body set up to combat and reduce the incidence of major crime and corruption in the public sector in Queensland. Its functions and powers are set out in the Crime and Corruption Act 2001. The CCC investigates both crime and corruption, has oversight of both the police and the public sector, and protects witnesses.
The Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP) represents the State in criminal cases. The community’s interest is that the guilty be brought to justice and the innocent not be wrongly convicted. The main function of the ODPP is to prosecute criminal matters in the Magistrates (limited), District, Supreme and Mental Health Courts, the Court of Appeal and the High Court of Australia.
The Committee monitors and reviews the performance of the ACC and the AFP as well as undertakes parliamentary supervision of Part 2-6 and section 20A of the Proceeds of Crime Act 2002 (relating to unexplained wealth provisions).
This publication presents information on the characteristics of defendants dealt with by Australian state and territory criminal courts. This includes information on the offences, case outcomes and sentences associated with those defendants. Information relates to the criminal jurisdictions of the Higher, Magistrates' and Children's Courts in each state and territory. The criminal jurisdiction of the courts includes the trial and sentencing of persons and organisations charged with criminal offences in Australia. Dates that information is available from varies between courts.
This handbook is a guide for practitioners appearing as duty lawyers in magistrates and childrens courts in Queensland. As a practitioner, you should read this before you appear in court. If used correctly, the handbook will help you with problems that may arise while at court. The omprehensive index provides a quick reference so you can use the handbook as a useful tool during the little time at your disposal at court.
The role of sentencing advisory councils in policy debate and development. Victorian and Tasmanian Sentencing Advisory Council chair Emeritus Professor Arie Freiberg discusses how councils are bridging the gap between the community, the courts and governments.
Re-thinking imprisonment: the role of evidence in penal reform. This episode introduces extensive research conducted in the United States by Professor Todd Clear of Rutgers University, which involves detailed analysis of US incarceration rates over a 30-year period.
What is sentencing? In this episode, Griffith Criminology Institute researcher Rebecca Wallis discusses the principles and purposes of sentencing in Queensland. She explains that sentencing is a complex process—one that follows the law as set out in the Penalties and Sentences Act 1992.
Education & Resources (Sentencing Advisory Council Queensland)
The Queensland Sentencing Advisory Council provides independent research and advice, seeks public views and promotes community understanding of sentencing matters. Click on the "Education and resources" tab for access to presentations and publications.
The Magistrates Courts are the entry level of court in Queensland. Most criminal cases are first heard in the Magistrates Courts, as are most civil cases. The Magistrates Courts hear 95% of court cases.
The criminal trial is the core of the Australian criminal justice system. It is the product of police investigation and its outcomes include the sentences of imprisonment that populate our prisons. The Prosecution Project is investigating the history of the criminal trial in Australia.
History of Criminal Law (Parliament of Australia)
This chronology aims to document the important milestones in Commonwealth criminal law.
The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913. It allows access to 197,745 trials, free of charge for non-commercial use.