Mooting
Jessup Moot
Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition
"Jessup is the world's largest moot court competition, with participants from over 550 law schools in more than 87 countries."
(Source: Jessup website).
Jessup Materials
Jessup Competitors
White & Case Jessup Guide
Researching international law (Jessup Guide)
- Jessup Moot Court Competition – 21 Tips from 21 Judges21 judges share their thoughts on what advice they would give to future Jessup competitors.
Highly qualified publicists
See International journals and Selected treatises on public international law.
International Law Commission : Research
The work product (documentation, reports, texts and instruments etc.) of the International Law Commission has accumulated into an extensive body of research into a wide range of aspects of public international law. The information on this site relating to such work product has been organized in a manner conducive to in-depth research and provides suggested methods of using this site to undertake research, starting from the specific to the general.
Collected Courses of The Hague Academy of International Law (Recueil des cours)
Online from 1923 to present.
- Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International LawArticles on International law
Guides and databases
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database (via HeinOnline) FILRD contains full-text international law publications, including prominent Yearbooks from around the world and proceedings of the American Society of International Law. Also contains U.S. law digests on international law and judicial decisions of the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice.
- Oxford Scholarship Online. LawCross-searchable library containing the full text of Oxford University Press books in the areas of public international law; constitutional and administrative law; philosophy of law; criminal law and criminology; human rights law; EU law; legal history; law of obligations; comparative law; company and commercial law; environmental and energy law; legal profession and ethics; employment law; intellectual property, IT, and media law; competition law; medical law; private international law; family law.
- Peace Palace Library : Research Guides : International Court of JusticeIncludes a bibliography, links to resources, blogs and more.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw Provides access to cases, legislation, journals, books online, and news. Also includes some international primary and secondary material.
Encyclopedias
- Max Planck Encyclopedias of International LawOnline edition of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, edited by Rüdiger Wolfrum. MPEPIL was launched to provide access to case law, commentary, treaties, monographs, and encyclopaedia articles.
Judicial decisions
International Court of Justice - Cases
From 22 May 1947 to 1 June 2017.
Access to International Court of Justice Decisions is also available via:
Thomson Reuters Westlaw. From International Materials, select Administrative Materials, then Administrative Materials, then Multi-National.
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) International Court of Justice Decisions.
Permanent Court of International Justice (1922-1946)
The Reports of Series and Other Documents
International law reports
Held at the Gold Coast library. Law KC20.I5 A56:B.
To request a copy of a case, click here
Oxford reports on international law
An online service bringing together decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. The database is organized into modules comprising: International courts of general jurisdiction, International criminal law, International human rights law, and International law in domestic courts. Includes the Oxford Law Citator.
International case law (Via Library Law Guide)
JustCite
A case citator and annotator covering the UK and Europe; plus journal articles and legislation.
Treaties and international conventions
- United Nations Treaty Series Online (UNTS) The United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) is a publication produced by the Secretariat of the United Nations containing all treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded by the Secretariat since 1945, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. Previously only available in printed format, the UNTS is now available as a fully-searchable on-line database. To search for a specific treaty or group of treaties please use the Advanced Search tool. Also refer to the Cumulative Index.
- Travaux preparatoires Travaux préparatoires is the name used to describe the documentary evidence of the negotiation, discussions, and drafting of a final treaty text. There are a number of sources you can use when trying to locate travaux préparatoires.
Custom and state practice
- International Committee of the Red Cross Customary international law is made up of rules that come from "a general practice accepted as law" and that exist independent of treaty law. Customary international humanitarian law (IHL) is of crucial importance in today’s armed conflicts because it fills gaps left by treaty law in both international and non-international conflicts and so strengthens the protection offered to victims.
- Customary International Humanitarian Law Database The Study on customary international humanitarian law conducted by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and originally published by Cambridge University Press.
- Public International Law Research - A Brief GuideAdvice on Researching Customary Law
Sources of State Practice in International Law by
"Sources of State Practice in International Law" is a descriptive bibliography of both electronic and printed sources of information containing the text of treaties and the record of diplomatic activity of important jurisdictions around the world. As such, it includes an up-to-date description of national treaty portals and other valuable Internet-based sources. At the same time, it also includes descriptions of printed sources providing access to treaties and official diplomatic documentation difficult to locate in standard compilations. In addition, this work includes a narrative section for each jurisdiction summarizing issues related to treaty succession and treaty implementation in municipal law. "Sources of State Practice in International Law" is an indispensable reference for researchers in both international law and international relations. "Contributors": Jennifer Allison, Martin Bouda, Rob Britt, Talia Einhorn, Victor Essien, Gabriela Femenia, Ralph F. Gaebler, Susan Gualtier, Ryan Harrington, Carole L. Hinchcliff, Marci Hoffman, Vera Korzun, Jootaek (Juice) Lee, Joseph Luke, Evelyn Ma, Teresa M. Miguel-Stearns, Dana Neacsu, Kara Phillips, Sunil Rao, Mary Rumsey, Alison A. Shea, Maria I. Smolka-Day, Suzanne Thorpe and Beatrice Tice
Publication Date: 2014
- Researching Customary International Law, State Practice and the Pronouncements of States regarding International LawBy Silke Sahl of Columbia and Catherine Deane of Vanderbilt. Part of the GlobaLex collection of foreign and international research guides. (Updated in 2016.)
- Restatement of the Law - The Foreign Relations Law of the United StatesFrom the TR Westlaw home page: Secondary Sources > Restatements & Principles of the Law.
- The United Nations Yearbook The Yearbook of the United Nations—published by the Department of Public Information—stands as the authoritative reference work on the activities and concerns of the Organization. Based on official UN documents, the Yearbook provides comprehensive coverage of political and security matters, human rights issues, economic and social questions, legal issues, and institutional, administrative and budgetary matters.
- The United Nations Juridical Yearbook Pursuant to resolution 1814 (XVII) of 18 December 1962, the General Assembly requested the Secretary-General to publish a juridical yearbook which would include certain documentary materials of a legal character concerning the United Nations and related intergovernmental organizations as presented in an outline annexed to the resolution.
- Yearbook of the European convention on human rights, the European Commission and European Court of Human RightsHeld at Gold Coast library. Law Per KC30.Y42
United Nations
- Official Document System of the United NationsThe United Nations Official Documents System (ODS) is the electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations. The full text of documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the United Nations.
- UN Documentation: International Court of Justice (via the Dag Hammarskjöld Library)ICJ Judgments, Orders, Advisory Opinions
International journals
- HeinOnline Provides access to law journals, treaties, legal classics and trials from the United States.
- World Journals (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)Available from the Thomson Reuters Westlaw platform, World Journals contains articles from law reviews and bar journals published in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries around the world. Coverage varies by publication.
- LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) Provides coverage (from 1980) to legal publications including law reviews, legal newspapers, speciality publications, and bar association journals.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (EBSCOhost) The Index to Legal Periodicals and Books, produced by H.W.Wilson Company indexes over 850 leading legal periodicals. Coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications published in the United States, Puerto Rico, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Includes monographs.
Selected treatises on public international law
Basic Documents in International Law by
Basic Documents in International Law draws together all of the most important documents needed for the study of international law. Collated by Ian Brownlie, a worldwide expert in the field, this book has provided students and practitoners with the most essential instruments giving a thoroughgrounding in this diverse and fascinating field of law. This sixth edition incorporates all key new documents within the field since the publication of the fifth edition in 2002, including the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court.Since the first edition appeared in 1967, this collection of basic texts has become an established aid both to the practising lawyer using international law materials, and to the student of international law as a complement to existing course books. As the title states, the objective of thecollection has always been to provide readers with the essential, basic documents, and this edition continues to do so, building on the aims and reputation established over the last 40 years.
Call Number: Law KC10.B36 2009Publication Date: 2009
International Law by Call Number: Law KC80.L68 2007Publication Date: 2007
International Law by Publication Date: 2003
Public International Law by
The fourth edition of Public International Law provides a very readable, lively, detailed and easily understood introduction to the fundamental principles and structures of international law without compromising on analysis and depth of coverage. Whilst the traditional topics of public international law are central to this book, new developments including the impact of Kosovo's unilateral declaration of independence from Serbia, the fight against terrorism, the implications of cases currently pending before the International Court of Justice on State immunity and the exercise of universal jurisdiction by States are also detailed. In addition, new actors on the international stage such as non-governmental organisations, multinational corporations and terrorist groups, are identified, examined and commented upon. The entire stance of the book allows the reader to appreciate the historic perspective and the evolving nature of public international law. This fourth edition includes an enhanced layout and student-friendly features such as advice on further reading, highlighted cases, aides-memoire chapter outlines and summaries.
Call Number: Law KC80.K32 2010Publication Date: 2010
Oppenheim's international law, Part 1 & 2 by Call Number: Law KC80.O66 1992 (V.1 Pt.1 & V.2 Pt.2)Publication Date: 1992
- Brill International Law e-books online (2011-2016) International Law e-books online is the electronic version of the book publication program of Martinus Nijhoff Publishers in the broad field of international law. Coverage: Public International Law – Law of the Sea – International Trade Law – International Labour Law – Environmental Law – European Law – International Relations – International Organizations – Terrorism – Legal History – Islamic Law.
- Thomson Reuters WestlawMulti-National Treatises. From the Home page, click on International Materials > Treatises > International Treatises.
Mooting books
Australasian mooting manual by Publication Date: 2012
The Student Guide to Mooting by Publication Date: 2010
Click here for more mooting books available via the Library Catalogue
