Law

NZLII provides free access to New Zealand legal information.

Written by Margaret Greville, author of "Legal Research and Writing in New Zealand".

Portal to NZ legal research resources and information. NOTE: Some sources are subscription only available to NZ students.

The authoritative source of Acts, Bills and Legislative Instruments

Historical bills from 1854 to 2008 are available from NZLII.

Legislative Instruments are made under the authority of empowering legislation. Those made before 5 August 2013 are known as Statutory Regulations, and the Statutory Regulations publication series was continued until the end of 2013. Access the annual tables online from 2005. Tables for earlier years are available in the first volume of those years' annual bound volumes of Statutory Regulations.

Recent judicial decisions of public interest and includes SC transcripts.

The site contains a representative sample of judicial decisions with emphasis on significant decisions of particular interest.

Judicial Decisions Online provides a searchable database of judgments and decisions sourced from New Zealand Courts.

Here you can read the official report of debates in the House of Representatives.

The Law Commission publishes many different publications. Each type, such as reports, issues papers, and ministerial briefings, has its own series. Each series has its own purpose. For example, issues papers identify law reform issues and call for submissions from the public. Reports are the final result of a project and contain recommendations for law reform.

Guide to finding and using NZ government services.

New Zealand Treaties Online provides an official record of New Zealand’s binding legal obligations at international law. The database allows access to accurate and up to date information. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, as the New Zealand repository of all treaties, is responsible for maintaining records of treaties to which New Zealand is party or to which New Zealand is in the process of becoming party.

Available from the Thomson Reuters Westlaw platform, World Journals contains articles from law reviews and bar journals published in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries around the world. Coverage varies by publication.

This online library contains legal research publications and public addresses relating to projects and events funded by the Law Foundation.These resources cover the latest legal research findings, and addresses given by leading legal professionals and academics.