Websites and news
Useful Australian websites
Professional organisations
- Australian Association of Social WorkersThe AASW is the representative body for social workers in Australia. Site includes publications and news relevant to the profession.
- Queensland Council of Social Service Inc (QCOSS)Queensland Council of Social Service (QCOSS) provides a voice for and with Queenslanders affected by poverty and inequality and acts as the state-wide council that leads on issues of significance to the social, community and health sectors.
- The Australian Council of Social ServiceThe Australian Council of Social Service is the peak body of the community services and welfare sector and the national voice for the needs of people affected by poverty and inequality.
- Australian Community Workers AssociaitonThe Australian Community Workers Association (ACWA) is the national body for community work practitioners in Australia. ACWA's role is to support community workers in every sphere of their work.
Government resources
- Australian Government - Department of HealthIncludes full text publications, media releases and links to consumer health information.
- Australian Government - Services AustraliaThe Human Services Portfolio is about people and the services. It consists of a number of government agencies. It is also a reliable starting point to access information about the payments and services available from Centrelink, Child Support Agency and Medicare Australia
Useful international websites
- Centers for Disease ControlInformation on chronic diseases, injuries, disabilities, and travellers' health. Prevention guidelines, plus full-text Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
- International Federation of Social WorkersThe IFSW site includes a range of publications with information on programs, human rights, policy making and ethics.
- National Institutes of HealthPart of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
- Social Care OnlineSite produced by Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE), this online database includes research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles and web links.
- United NationsUnited Nations homepage includes links to UN pages on Human Rights, Economic and Social Development, Humanitarian Affairs and International Law.
- The British Association of Social WorkersProfessional association for social work in the UK.
- National Association of Social Workers (US)National association for the United States.
Key news and current affairs resources
- Australia and New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)Covers local, national, business, sport, political, technology and entertainment news from key providers within Australia/New Zealand region.
- PressReaderPressReader provides online access to local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. Note that the following newspapers are no longer available via PressReader - The Australian, The Gold Coast Bulletin, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age and The Courier Mail.
- Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCOhost)Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers and newswires, reference books, and company information to create the largest collection of regional full text content available.
- TVNews (Informit)
Stream and download video of Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks. Note: Coverage 2007 to present.
Find more news resources in the News and current affairs guide
