This site provides links to Australian newspapers, including metropolitan dailies, regional and suburban online newspapers, as well as those with only promotional sites. Newspapers can be selected alphabetically by name, by state, or by town. Coverage varies with each newspaper, some provide current issue only whilst others have archived material going back several months.
Stream and download video of Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks.
Indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. NOTE: Coverage - September 2007 to present. Summary of licence
Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for articles from U.S. local and regional business journals, newspapers and news magazines. It focuses on providing access to business information on large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance,and industry news not typically found in U.S. national news sources. Includes full text for selected titles.
PressReader provides online access to over 2,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
British Library Newspapers consists of collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.
For decades, even hundreds of years after publication, researchers of all kinds, all over the world, turn to newspapers for information relating to a widest variety of research needs. The rise of newspapers in Britain was a phenomenon which characterized a new age. The newspaper was increasingly a medium for information required by the commercially minded societies of major cities and regional centers. Taken as a whole, the huge production of newspapers in Britain provides an enormous resource for research on all subjects for all of the U.K., both urban and rural. The bulk of advertising, particularly for new books and theatrical performances, has proved especially useful to historians. Cultural trends, political currents and social problems are reflected in the newspapers and give new freshness and immediacy to the historic events.
The Trove digitised newspapers service allows free online access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program, a collaborative program between the National Library of Australia and the State and Territory libraries to digitise out of copyright newspapers. The service includes newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s until the mid 1950s. It is an evolving service with new content added progressively. The service provides full text searching of newspaper articles which have been scanned from microfilm. Enhancement of the content by users is allowed through correction of text and tagging of articles.
Covers theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.