Forensic investigation
Databases
- Criminal Justice & Public Safety (Alexander Street Press)Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video includes hundreds of hours of video for professionals and students in criminal justice and public safety.
- Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
- ScienceDirect
Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database covering research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
- Australian Federal Police Digest (via Informit)Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on policing, criminology, law enforcement and related fields. Source documents include selected Australian and overseas journals, conference papers and chapters of some books. NOTE: Coverage - 1991 to present.
- Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5-TRDSM-5-TR (the 2022 text revision of the DSM-5 published in 2013) is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Key resources
- Real-world crime scene investigation: a step-by-step procedure manualDesigned as a field guide providing instruction on how to document a crime scene, including sketching, mapping, searching, collecting, and preserving physical evidence. It also addresses how to document a crime scene using photography and videography.
- Criminalistics laboratory manual: The basics of forensic investigationThis book provides students with little to no prior knowledge of forensic science with a practical crime scene processing experience.
- Practical crime scene investigations for hot zonesThis book contains guidelines and best practices for keeping CSIs safe and conducting a thorough crime scene investigation when the scene involves the release of chemical, biological, explosive or radiological material.
Key journals
Data, images and maps
- Queensland Police Service maps and statisticsA web portal with links to an online crime map of Queensland from the Queensland Police Records and Information and Management Exchange (QPRIME), the Queensland Police annual statistics review and links to open data of policing records and GPS databases.
- Australian Federal Police open datasetsOpen source datasets provided by the Australian Federal Police.
- Research Data Australia - forensic dataForensic datasets from the Research Data Australia website. Not all of this data is publicly available and may need to be requested from the institution providing the data.
