Library guides: Rehabilitation counselling: Journals and journal articles

Journals and journal articles

Key journal article databases

Health Databases

Searching for journal articles in databases specialising in health sources helps you find resources focused on your discipline.

Health and Medical collection (ProQuest)
Indexing, abstracting and full text database that provides access to more than 700 journals covering all medical specialties.
Psycinfo (Ovid)
Includes academic, research and practice literature in psychology including related disciplines.
50 simultaneous user limit.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive database of journal articles and other publications for nursing and allied health. Coverage includes nursing specialties, speech pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals, with extensive full-text coverage available for over 1,200.

MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimized for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is one of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. MEDLINE provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
Embase
Cites journals and other publications in the biomedical sciences, health, medicine and life sciences.
Nursing and Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
A comprehensive database for nursing and allied health including journal articles and theses.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Find the details of literature relating to social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. NOTE: Coverage - 1979 to present.
Provides abstracts and indexes of current research focused on social work, human services, and related disciplines, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.

NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE)
PsycBITE™ is a database that indexes studies of cognitive, behavioral, and other treatments for psychological problems and issues that occur as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). It is a free, web-based resource.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Searching multidisciplinary databases helps you find journal articles published outside your discipline and are ideal for cross-disciplinary topic areas.

ScienceDirect
Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database covering research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.

MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Informit Search (multiple databases)
Search platform for accessing Australasian and Asian content databases within the fields of humanities, education, indigenous studies, legal, health, engineering and family studies.

Key rehabilitation counselling journals

Browsing key journals in your discipline helps you stay up-to-date with current research

Work : a journal of prevention, assessment & rehabilitation