Library guides: Research data: A-Z listing

A-Z listing

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Data Archive (ATSIDA)
ATSIDA is a specialised, trusted research data management facility for Australian Indigenous research data. It is a thematic archive with datasets stored securely at the ANU's Computational Infrastructure (NCI). Data is available for further research, under appropriate protocols, so as to reduce the response burden on Australian Indigenous communities while enabling informed analysis and commentary in areas of national priority.
Above and Beyond Speech, Language and Music (Alveo) Virtual Laboratory & Data
Alveo is a virtual lab for human communication science, providing access to collections of speech and language data with APIs to support data processing. Alveo enables novel application of tools to analyse previously difficult to access data sets.
ABS Australian Bureau of Statistics Microdata
Microdata ranging from aggregated data to Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFs) is available. Different platforms and formats are available, including Table builder, an online tool for creating tables, graphs and maps, Microdata download, and DataLab a secure ABS onsite solution for high-end users who want to undertake interactive, complex analysis of restricted data. Includes data from ABS surveys and administrative data collected by other organisations. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
ABN bulk extract data
The extract information contains a subset of the publicly available information supplied by businesses when they register for an Australian Business Number (ABN).
All-Sky Virtual Observatory (ASVO)
Links observational data sets and theoretical infrastructure capabilities enabling new approaches to astronomical research. It includes datasets from Theoretical Astrophysical Observatory, SkyMapper, Anglo-Australian Telescope (AAT) Node of the All-Sky Virtual Observatory (ASVO), Murchison Widefield Array, CSIRO ASKAP Science Data Archive.
Archaeology Data Service (ADS) UK
Access to text reports, databases (related to excavated contexts or artefacts, for example), images (including aerial photographs, remote sensing imagery, photographs of sites, features and artefacts), digitised maps and plans, numerical datasets related to topographical and sub-surface surveys and other locational data, as well as reconstruction drawings.
ASIC Business Names Dataset
Select data from the ASIC's Business Name Register is uploaded each month. The data made available is a snapshot of the register at a point in time. Legislation prescribes the type of information ASIC is allowed to disclose to the public.
Asia and the West : diplomacy and cultural exchange (Gale Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
A collection of manuscript collections consisting of British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic service records relating to Asian countries during the nineteenth century. A selection of Asian missionary correspondence and journals is also included.
Astrophysics data system (ADS)
Provides discovery, access and links to Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Physics research including publications, astronomical object information, data catalogs and data sets. Search, metrics, export and libraries APIs are available.
Atlas of Living Australia
Project by government, CSIRO and other institutions. Provides access to an array of information on Australia's plants, animals, fungi, and microorganisms, including species pages, names lists, ID keys, over 23 million records, photos, mapping tools, and more.
AuScope Geoscience Virtual Research Environment
Data, visualisation and analytics for geoscience. Includes geological models from around Australia in 3D, a data discovery portal, AusPass service for acquisition, management and distribution of passive seismological data, computational and HPC tools and more.
AustLit
An authoritative database of bibliographical and production information for Australian works of fiction and poetry, writing for the theatre, biographical and travel writing, writing for film and television, criticism and reviews. Also provides biographical and historical information about the people and organisations who associated with the works covered.
AusTraits
An open-source, harmonized database of Australian plant trait data. It synthesises data on nearly 500 traits across more than 30,000 taxa from field campaigns, published literature, taxonomic monographs, and individual taxon descriptions.
Australian Antarctic Data Centre
Data includes, temporal, spatial, biological and physical data on biodiversity, sea ice, weather and environment, species, state of the environment. GIS datasets, satellite images, maps and charts, track and underway data are also available.
Australian Data Archive
The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users.
Australian Historical and Colonial Census Data
The ADA Census Dataverse includes Australian Census 1986 data collection and Historical Census and Colonial Data Archive (HCCDA) of publications and reports covering the period from 1833 to 1901. Data tables are available for public download and full archival set including scanned originals by request.
Australian Historical Criminal Justice Dataverse
Customized subsets of data produced from Griffith University's Prosecution Project. Transcribed court records have been sourced from around Australia. These include Supreme Courts, Police Gazettes and Convict Registers. Access the full dataset from the Prosecutions Project at: https://prosecutionproject.griffith.edu.au/
Australian Institute for Health and Welfare (AIHW) Data collections
Data on a wide range of health and welfare topics, including expenditure, hospitals, disease, injury, mental health, ageing, homelessness, housing, disability, child protection and the needs of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Some restricted data is available to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
The Australian Longitudinal Study on Male Health (Ten to Men)
Major longitudinal dataset on the health and lifestyles of a large group of Australian males. The study follows participants over time and provide an important resource for improving the health of Australian men and boys. Controlled access be available to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
The Australian Longitudinal Study on Women’s Health (ALSWH)
Longitudinal survey of three different aged cohorts of Australian women. The study examines demographic, social, physical, psychological, and behavioural variables and their effect on major aspects of women’s health and well-being and health service use. Controlled access available to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
Australian Ocean Data Network (AODN)
The AODN Portal provides access to all available Australian marine and climate science data and provides the primary access to IMOS ocean current data including access to the IMOS metadata.
Australian Survey of Social Attitudes Dataverse (AUSSA)
Data from the scientific study of the social attitudes, beliefs and opinions of Australians, how they change over time, and how they compare with other societies. The Australian component of the International Social Survey Project (ISSP). Developed by ACSPR, a consortium of universities and government research agencies, including Griffith University.
Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network (AURIN)
Spatially enabled datasets and analytical tools for research into different & inter-related aspects of Australia’s communities, towns and cities. Researchers can also apply for access restricted datasets, including Corelogic and APM housing data, Health direct data, Australian Business Registry data.
more...less...
Researchers can also apply for access restricted datasets, including Corelogic and APM housing data, Health direct data, Australian Business Registry data.
EcoCommons
Access datasets from Atlas of Living Australia, the Global Biodiversity Information Facility, the Australian Ecological Knowledge and Observation System, and the Ocean Bio-geographic Information System database, then run experiments, use models and visualize results. Griffith University is a partner in the platform.
BioLincc - Biological Specimen & Data Repository Information Coordinating Center - NIH
The repository includes large plasma, serum and whole blood collections from epidemiologic studies conducted in blood donors and transfusion-recipients, along with individual level data on hundreds of thousands of participants from institute-supported clinical trials and observational studies. Access to international researchers with ethical approval, by application and review.
British theatre, music and literature : high and popular culture (Gale Primary Sources)
Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.
Building a New Life in Australia (BNLA): The Longitudinal Study of Humanitarian Migrants
The longitudinal study follows the settlement journey of 2,399 humanitarian migrants and their families who arrived in Australia between April and October 2013. It focuses on their participation in society, their general health and happiness and investigating factors that may facilitate positive outcomes. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
Business Longitudinal Analysis Data Environment (BLADE)
BLADE Combines business tax data and information from ABS surveys over time to provide an understanding of Australian businesses and economy. Use data to study how businesses fare over time and the factors that drive performance, innovation, job creation, competitiveness and productivity. Access to restricted data to approved researchers by application and provided via ABS DataLab. Contact the Library for a referral.
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
Global repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. Containing structures from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses, it provides accurate 3D structures, chemical representations, as well as bibliographic, chemical and physical property information, adding further value to the raw structural data. Analysis and visualisation software is available via CSD-Enterprise.
Centre for Applied Internet Data Analysis (CAIDA)
CAIDA operates active and passive measurement infrastructures enabling visibility into global Internet behavior. Datasets resulting from the measurements are curated, archived and shared along with multiple derivative datasets. Access to restricted data by application with terms and conditions.
Code Ocean
Develop, share, publish, and download code through a web browser, eliminating the need to install software on personal computers. The platform includes executable, cloud-based computational environment to preserve, publish & reproduce research code & data.

Company360
Provides in-depth business information and analysis on Australia's leading 50,000 private and public companies, including financial data, corporate family trees, company and management bios and peer analysis.
Connect 4
A collection of specialised databases providing documents and customised reports relating to companies listed on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX). It includes: Annual reports, Company prospectuses, Bidder and target statements.

Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)
A data registry of social science data archives across Europe. The CESSDA Data Catalogue is a platform for researchers wanting to find and reuse social science and humanities research data.
Copernicus SARA Data Portal
This data portal, the Sentinel Australasia Regional Access (SARA), provides fast access to the data cache on NCI for selected datasets, particularly for the Australasian region, which are a replica from the master site maintained in Europe.
CSIRO Data Access Portal
Portal to access data, maps and images pertaining to Australian waters, gathered by scientists from the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation. Users can request access to the data by registering their email address.
DASH data and specimen hub from NICHD
A resource for researchers to store de-identified data and to access data and associated biospecimens from NICHD supported studies for use in secondary research. Access by registration with terms and conditions. NICHD DASH Data Use Agreement signed by the Data Recipient and the Authorized Organization Representative (AOR) from your institution.
Data Archive for for Interdisciplinary Research on Learning (DAIRL)
Share and access data and written works in order to advance policy- and practice-relevant knowledge about student learning, students' experience of school, and learning environments.
data.gov.au
Anonymised, open public data published by federal, state and local government agencies in Australia, along with publicly-funded datasets from private institutions that are in the public interest. Includes a visualisation tool for geospatial and satellite data exploration. Also provides information about unpublished data and data for purchase.
Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE)
A federated data network providing access to and preserves data about, life on Earth and the environment. Search records from over 42 data centers including TERN, Artic Data Centre, EDAC, Pangea and more. Metadata is open and provides links to originating repositories for access and conditions.

Data Planet
Statistical information from U.S. Federal and State agencies, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
There are two separate interfaces for accessing the contents of the database: Data Planet Statistical Datasets, which presents a browsable index of datasets plus a simple search function; and Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference, which provides simple and advanced searching options of the Statistical Datasets content as well as preformatted searches relating to statistics on U.S. states and nations of the world.

Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR)
Provides data from studies across the social science disciplines with SAS, SPSS, Stata, R, and ASCII files available for download. Online statistical analysis is available for some studies. Restricted data may be available to researchers by application with terms and conditions.
DocNow Twitter Datasets Catalog
A collectively curated listing of Twitter datasets. Public datasets are shared as Tweet IDs, which can be hydrated back into full datasets using our Hydrator desktop application. DocNow is an appraisal tool for the social web, built by a small but growing community of researchers, archivists and librarians who recognize that social media platforms like Twitter provide essential documentary evidence of our times.
Drugbank
A bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug data with comprehensive drug target information. Includes drug entries such as approved small molecule drugs, approved biologics (proteins, peptides, vaccines, and allergenics), nutraceuticals and experimental (discovery-phase) drugs. Non-redundant protein (i.e. drug target/enzyme/transporter/carrier) sequences are linked to the drug entries.
Dryad
A general-purpose repository for a wide diversity of data types, submitted by researchers to support findings.
Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center
World's largest collection of remotely sensed images of the Earth’s land surface and the primary source of Landsat satellite images and data products. Includes NASA’s Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center and EarthExplorer. Also provides access to MODIS land data products from the NASA Terra and Aqua missions, and ASTER level-1B data products over the U.S. and Territories from the NASA ASTER mission.
EcoCommons
Access datasets from Atlas of Living Australia, the Global Biodiversity Information Facility, the Australian Ecological Knowledge and Observation System, and the Ocean Bio-geographic Information System database, then run experiments, use models and visualize results. Griffith University is a partner in the platform.

EIU Viewpoint - Asia and Australasia
Integrates the EIU's forecasts for the global economy, daily insights, extensive country economic and political analysis, medium-term forecasts for markets, long-term economic projections, industry analysis and data, commodity forecasts, macroeconomic datasets and proprietary ratings and rankings. The Asia and Australasian segment covers Australia, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.
EIU Viewpoint replaces the EIU Market Indicators and Forecasts product.

Griffith University's subscription to EIU Viewpoint does not include setting up of alerts or saving searches.

Europeana Pro
Contains millions of records of artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives. A curated dataset collection is also available with the best, directly accessible objects - newspapers, books, photos, art, artefacts, audio clips and more. Apps, tools, APIs and open source software for searching, downloading and using the collections are available.
European Bioinformatics Institute Tools & Data Resources (EMBL-EBI)
Up-to-date molecular data resources. Developed in worldwide collaboration, you share can data, perform complex queries and analyse the results in different ways. Users can work locally by downloading data and software, or use web services to access resources programmatically with APIs.
Figshare
A general-purpose open-access repository of research data, figures, images and other outputs to support research findings.
Footprints in Time: The Longitudinal Study of Indigenous Children (LSIC)
Follows the development of around 1,700 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and their families across urban, regional and remote Australia. The study provides a data resource that can be drawn on by government, researchers, service providers, parents and communities. It is one of the largest longitudinal studies of Indigenous people worldwide. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.

Gale Primary Sources
Provides access to a range of primary sources. Can be used with Gale's Digital Scholar Lab for text analysis and more.

Galleries Libraries Archives & Museums (GLAM) Workbench
GLAM-related datasets from national and state data portals are harvested and available for exploration. Includes tutorials, tools and guides to explore and use data for researchers in the Humanities. The tool enables researchers to read, download, analyse and visualise GLAM collections data within a browser interface. Created by Tim Sherratt.
GeoNetwork : NCI Data Catalogue
Includes data on climatology, meteorology, atmosphere, environment, imagery, oceans and geoscientific information.
Geoscience Australia Online Tools
Online data and tools including earthquake mapping, airborne surveys, Geochron delivery, Australian flood risk information portal, rock properties explorer, interactive maps, 3D models and more.
Github
Largest host and repository of source code in the world. Provides hosting for software development version control. It offers distributed version control and source code management (SCM) functionality of Git with more features.
Global Archive : ecological data
Repository of fish image annotation, stereo calibration and associated information, provides the ability to upload data with flexible file formats. Explore, query and share this data with other users across different projects and institutions. Created by University of Western Australia.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
An international network and research infrastructure funded by governments providing open access to data about all types of life on Earth. CSIRO manages Australian node of the platform. A spectrum of data from historical, museum specimens to geotagged smartphone images for access and use.
GlobalEdge
Resources on global business activities. Includes country statistics, trade statistics, Market Potential Index, Database of International Business Statistics and tools including diagnostic tools and comparator tool. Access to tools via registration.
Global Rock Art Database
Projects, sites and other resources from the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. Includes a 3D view toolbox for analysing and tagging rock art. Find rock-art places from around the world through an interactive map and explore media galleries showcasing photographs, videos, 3D models and virtual tours. Supported by PERAHU, Griffith University.
GlyGen
Computational and Informatics Resources for Glycoscience. GlyGen retrieves information from multiple international data sources and integrates and harmonizes this data. This web portal allows exploring this data and performing unique searches across mulitple sources.
Google dataset search
Enables users to find datasets stored across the web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the web.
Growing up in Australia: the Longitudinal Study of Australian Children (LSAC)
A major study following the development of 10,000 children and families across Australia. It tracks the children’s development and life course trajectories in today’s economic, social and political environment. Collection commenced in 2004 with two cohorts of 5,000 children each, aged 4 - 5 and 0 - 1 years. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
GSKY from NCI
A distributed geospatial data server exposing OGC services developed at the NCI. It provides a high performance service for environmental and geophysical data based on data aggregation, data cubes and coordinate transformations. Has the ability for users to interact with entire datasets and the information they contain using standard community protocols. Uses protocols used by geospatial community enabling many client software services can access data via GSKY.
Harvard Dataverse
A repository for research data from all disciplines. Search and view dataset descriptions and files for published datasets. Access to view unpublished dataverses, datasets, or files, by administrator permission.
Household, Income and Labour Dynamics in Australia (HILDA) Survey
A major, longitudinal study of Australian households which commenced in 2001, collecting data on economic and personal well-being, labour market dynamics and family life. HILDA data are available via general release or restricted release. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
Humanities Networked Infrastructure (HuNI)
The datasets comprise millions of authoritative records relating to the people, organisations, objects, works and events from many of Australia’s most significant cultural collections. HuNI platform also enables researchers to work with and share this large-scale aggregation of cultural information.
Human Mortality Database
Provides detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity. It contains original calculations of death rates and life tables for national populations as well as the input data. User registration required.
Human Variome Project
An international non-governmental organisation collecting, curating, interpreting and sharing information on genetic variation. The Australian Node is a national data sharing facility for improving clinical genetic testing services and supporting medical research. It consists of a secure, digital data repository and a suite of collection tools.
HydroShare
CUAHSI's online collaboration environment for sharing hydrology related data, models, and code.
ILOSTAT database
Labour statistics for bulk export and analysis. Also includes APIs, visualisation and mapping tools, R-ILOstat package, Excel add in and chart makers.
IMF Data
Access to a range of IMF statistical datasets, including International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of trade statistics (DOTS), and Government finance statistics (GFS) databases. Users can view and download predefined data reports or create and share their own views of IMF data.
Infectious Diseases Data Observatory (IDDO)
assembles clinical, laboratory and epidemiological data on a collaborative platform to be shared with the research and humanitarian communities.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research database (ICPSR)
Datasets span various social science disciplines, topics and countries. Primarily quantitative data with some qualitative datasets. Users can examine and compare variables and questions across studies or series. Most data holdings are publicly available. Restricted data is available to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration (INSDC)
A spectrum of data raw reads, through alignments and assemblies to functional annotation, enriched with contextual information relating to samples and experimental configurations. The database collaboration operates between DDBJ, EMBL-EBI and NCBI.
IPUMS
Provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyse individuals within family and community contexts.
Kaggle Open Data
An online community of data scientists and machine learning practitioners. Find and publish data sets, explore and build models in a web-based data-science environment, work with other data scientists and machine learning engineers, and enter competitions to solve data science challenges. A subsidiary of Google LLC,
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitised primary source materials, including archived websites, open-access materials from the web, rare books, photos, manuscripts, interviews and more.
Longitudinal Surveys of Australian Youth (LSAY)
LSAY uses large, nationally representative samples of students at school to collect information about education, training, work, financial matters, health, social activities, and related issues. LSAY began in 1995 and to date, six cohorts have commenced the survey program. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
Mammals Exploring the Oceans Pole to Pole (MEOP)
A comprehensive quality-controlled database of oceanographic data obtained in Polar Regions from instrumented marine mammals. Includes databases of quality-controlled CTD profiles, submesoscale-resolving high density CTD data , and high spatial density temperature/light data.
Mapping the world : maps and travel literature (Gale Primary Sources)
A collection of English, Canadian and American nineteenth-century maps and travel literature, travel and tourist periodicals and personal reminiscences.
more...less...
The Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature archive includes a myriad of maps representing the long nineteenth century. Selections have been culled from the vast map repositories of the British Library and the National Archives at Kew. In addition to these large map collections, maps representing the Americas, and in particular America's westward expansion, have been provided by the American Antiquarian Society. Maps depicting Canada and the polar regions have been generously provided by the University of Alberta. Bryn Mawr's extensive collection of European Travel accounts provides a sweeping glance of the travel narrative genre. In addition to the Bryn Mawr Collection, selected travel narratives have been included from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society and the British Library.
Medicare data
Includes MBS, PBS, Immunisation, Organ donor, Practice Incentives Programme, general practice statistical data. Data available via spreadsheets, and charting tool. Researchers can also request unit records, consent studies, and linked data by application and review with associated costs.
The Medicine in Australia: Balancing Employment and Life (MABEL)
MABEL is a major longitudinal survey of doctors. Access by application for researchers with quantitative skills, with terms and conditions.
Melbourne Femur Collection
An archive of human femoral bone tissue gathered from persons who died suddenly and unexpectedly without any major predisposing medical conditions or long periods of immobilisation. Access to researchers with ethical approval, by request, with terms and conditions.

Morningstar DatAnalysis Premium
Provides a comprehensive database of detailed financial information on all ASX listed and delisted companies. The product provides powerful searching and reporting tools, which allow you to find and display information across all companies.

Multi-Agency Data Integration Project (MADIP) Microdata
MADIP is a partnership among six Australian Government agencies to combine longitudinal information on healthcare, education, government payments and personal income tax with population demographics to create a comprehensive social picture of Australia. Access to authorised researchers by application, with terms and conditions, via ABS secure DataLab.
NASA data portal
Open-data, including source code, APIs, visualizations and more. Explore datasets by domain, field of science, or mission. Also includes open-data and open-code aggregator sites that collect open-data and open-code from across all federal government agencies; code.gov and data.gov all linked via the data portal.
NASA's Earth Data
Data discovery and access to more than 33,000 Earth observation data collections from NASA’s EOSDIS, U.S. and international partner agencies. Filter by discipline, platform, instrument, or by day/time and spatial region. Also includes tools for geolocation, reprojection, and mapping data visualization and analysis.
National Center for Functional Glycomics (NCFG)
Bioinformatics and Databases developed by NCFG available to researchers. Managed by Harvard University and funded by NIH.
National Film & Sound Archive (NFSA)
The NFSA collection holds works, including films, television and radio programs, videos, audio tapes, records, compact discs, phonograph cylinders and wire recordings. It also encompasses documents and artefacts such as photographs, posters, lobby cards, publicity items, scripts, costumes, props, memorabilia, oral histories, and vintage equipment.
NCBI GenBank
The NIH genetic sequence database is an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. The database is designed for the scientific community to provide and encourage access to the most up-to-date and comprehensive DNA sequence information. A release occurs every two months and is available from the ftp site.
NCI Node: Earth Systems Grid Federation (ESGF)
The NCI ESGF node currently hosts Australian produced data for the CMIP5, CMIP6, CORDEX, GeoMIP and PMIP3 data collections. The EGSF is designed to integrate and interoperate with other software developed by the ESGF collaborators: such as NASA, NOAA, ESIP, and the European IS-ENES.
NDEx (The Network Data Exchange)
The NDEx Project provides an open-source framework where scientists and organizations can share, store, manipulate, and publish biological network knowledge.
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Also included are resources that serve as a portal for information about biomedical data and information sharing systems. The table may be searched using keywords so that you can find repositories more relevant to your data.
Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS)
A global open-access data and information platform on marine biodiversity for science, conservation and sustainable development. Search and map datasets by species name, higher taxonomic level, geographic area, depth, time and environmental parameters. OBIS data originates from the Census of Marine Life (2000-2010).
OECD Health Data
Provides data on the health status of the population including obesity, suicide & life expectancy, health care financing & resources, social protection, health care utilization, the pharmaceutical market, long-term care resources & utilization, non-medical determinants of health, expenditure on health, demographic & economic references, with coverage being provided for OECD and selected non-OECD countries as far back as 1960.
Open Context
Enables researchers to publish archaeological data for analysis, reuse, and exploration. Includes maps, artifact and ecofact data, field notes and diary content and images. Includes structured data for download and APIs for programmatic access.
Open Data for Resiliance Initiative (OpenDRI)
To communicate risk more effectively to decision-makers in planning, preparedness and response activities, OpenDRI works with governments and partners to develop InaSAFE software. By combining data from scientists, local governments and communities, InaSAFE provides insights into the likely effects of disaster events.
Open Language Archives Community (OLAC) Resource Catalogue
This catalogue provides access to information about thousands of languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries and software, sourced from digital and traditional archives.
Open Trials
a collaboration between Open Knowledge International and Dr Ben Goldacre from the University of Oxford DataLab. It aims to locate, match, and share all publicly accessible data and documents, on all trials conducted, on all medicines and other treatments, globally.
Optical Astronomy data services via NCI
NCI publishes Optical Astronomy datasets using IVOA compliant services, such as an installation of the CSIRO ASKAP Data Archive TAP data service.
OSF (Open Science Framework)
Discover projects, data, materials, and collaborators on OSF that may be helpful to your own research. Operated by the Centre for Open Science.

OSIRIS
Includes standardised and reported financials (including restated reports), SEC filings, detailed earnings estimates including recommendations, ownership, stock data, news and ratings on public companies worldwide.

Pacific & Regional Archive for Digital Sources in Endangered Cultures (PARADISEC)
An Australian managed digital archive of records of over 1200 endangered cultures and languages of the world. Multimedia data, including sound, video, transcripts are available, and researchers can submit to the archive. Access by registration, with terms and conditions. They also build models that show how to make reusable data.

Passport (Euromonitor)
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers.
Previously Passport GMID. Euromonitor International's Passport database is an online business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources for 205 countries.

Photography, the world through the lens (Gale Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
Contains collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives internationally.
Pew Research Centre Datasets
Public polling and demographic research data available for secondary analysis after a period of time. Survey datasets are cleaned and de-identified. Most files are provided in SPSS .sav format, which can be converted for use with other types of statistical software. Access to researchers by application, with terms and conditions.
Project Data Sphere - Cancer Trial Data
A free digital library-laboratory, operated by Cancer's Life Sciences Consortium (LSC), providing one place where the research community can broadly share, integrate and analyse historical, patient-level data from academic and industry phase III cancer clinical trials. Access is provided to bona fide researchers via online application, data use agreement and review.
Queensland Health: The Statistical Services Branch (SSB)
Statistics on the health of Queenslanders and their use of health services. Data collections include, Financial and Residential Activity Collection, Monthly Activity Collection, Perinatal Data Collection, Queensland Hospital Admitted Patient Data Collection, Queensland Health Non-Admitted Patient Data Collection. Access to researchers with ethical approval, by application and considered on a case-by-case basis.
Queensland Spatial Catalogue (Qspatial)
Public access to spatial and associated data. Data available in selected formats, including map coverage data, image data and text file data. Includes: Regional ecosystem series, QLD mining and exploration tenure series, QLD geology series and QLD globe and live services. Users require GIS software to access the data. Freely available and copyright restrictions apply. Licensing arrangements vary for individual resources.
Re3data
A mega registry of research data repositories from every domain and with global coverage. Links to repositories are provided. Repositories may provide open or mediated access to data. Copyright and usage licences vary.
Research Data Australia (RDA)
Australia’s national registry of data from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. RDA includes records from and links to university, CSIRO and other research datasets. Repositories may provide open or mediated access to data. Copyright and usage licences vary.

SciFinder-N
Find journals, patents, chemical structures and reactions, and other publications for chemistry, engineering, pharmacy and medicine.
SciFindern̳ is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry and chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. It provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS, which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service; and to MEDLINE, which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. As in its earlier interation titled SciFinder, sources covered include over 10,000 journals, patents from over 60 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. 15 million PatentPak PDFs are included, as well as 5 million synthetic protocols. SciFindern̳ provides researchers with improved searching functionality and additional tools to analyze and manipulate retrieved data sets.

Skymapper data services
Data from the Skymapper telescope is available via three methods. SkyMapper Southern Survey data — a simple cone search of the catalogues around a given sky position, arbitrary queries of the full database and external tables using ADQL, and reduced image cutouts with WCS around a given sky position. All three methods can also be accessed through Virtual Observatory-compatible tools such as TOPCAT, Aladin and custom scripts.
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)
SEDAC is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS). Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC develops and operates applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data.
Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (Share)
Research infrastructure for studying the effects of health, social, economic and environmental policies over the life-course of European citizens and beyond. From 2004 until today, 530,000 in-depth interviews with 140,000 people aged 50 or older from 28 European countries and Israel have been conducted. Researchers with an affliation with a university can apply for access to datasets.
Talkbank
Talkbank fosters fundamental research in the study of human communication with an emphasis on spoken communication. It provides repositories in research areas including, child language acquisition. Tools include a database of transcripts, programs for computer analysis of transcripts, methods for linguistic coding, and systems for linking transcripts to digitized audio and video. Access by registration.
TERN AusCover
Earth observation data and products that describe land-surface and environmental characteristics derived using satellite and airborne imagery. The AusCover facility provides access to remote sensing data and derived products, associated with land-surface characteristics and biophysical variables derived from satellite and airborne imagery.
Terra Nova - The Australian Climate Change Adaptation Information Hub
Information and research data on nationally significant sectors and regions that are most vulnerable to climate change threats. Utilise adaptation decision support tools and interactive climate model visualisations.
Terrestrial Ecosystem Research Network (TERN) Data & Coesra
Australia’s land ecosystem observatory. TERN data providers observe, measure and record critical terrestrial ecosystem parameters and conditions for Australia over time from continental scale to field sites at hundreds of locations. The information is standardised, integrated and transformed into model-ready data, enabling researchers to discern and interpret changes in land ecosystems.
Thematic Real-time Environmental Distributed Data Services (THREDDS)
Serves many of NCI’s open data collections at the file level, as well as some aggregations. It provides many different types of services to allow individual files to be selected, as well as more advanced services such as OpenDAP, NetCDF subsetting, OGC WCS and WMS. The THREDDS server is programmatically accessible, which is how many advanced tools and portals use our service.
To be continued
Digitised newspaper archive of serialized 19th & 20th century Australian fiction harvested from TROVE. Available for computational analysis or reading. It enables important new insights into the development of Australian literary, publishing and reading culture. Project by ANU.
Trove
Search to explore collections from Australian libraries, museums, galleries and archives online.
Tweetsets
A collection of Twitter datasets for research and archiving from George Washington University. Create your own Twitter dataset from existing datasets. Conforms with Twitter policies.
X API for Academic Research
Global, real-time and historical data from Twitter / X. Fee for access.
UNdata
Data from OECD, World Tourism Organisation, WHO, UNICEF, International Telecommunications Union, many UN offices, ILO, IMF, World Bank, and World Meteorological Organisation. Data can be downloaded in sml, csv and other formats. APIs are available for dynamic, programmatic access to data. Useful tools are linked including Thematic Mapping Engine (TME) to visualise global statistics on Google Earth.
UN Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems (UN-CT)
Longitudinal collection of crime and criminal justice statistics with waves commencing 1970. Available for online exploration by geography and demography. It provides an overview of trends and interrelationships between various parts of the criminal justice system to promote informed decision-making in administration, nationally and internationally.
Virtual Atomic and Molecular Data Centre (AMDC)
A federated database providing access to a broad range of atomic and molecular (A&M) data from worldwide consortium of organisations. The VAMDC Portal provides a web service to convert a XSAMS file containing spectroscopic molecular data into a file in HITRAN format.
Virtual Museum Resources, E-Learning, and Online Collections
Links to virtual tours, online exhibits and collections, and educational resources from museums, libraries and galleries around the world.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)
Online access to over 100,000 high quality digitised images of library, museum, and archive collections from higher education arts institutions and digitisation projects across the UK. Images are free for use in learning, teaching and research. The collection covers visual arts subjects including fine art, design, applied arts, architecture, and media, and is accessible from an open access searchable online catalogue.
Vivli Center for Global Clinical Research Data
A global data-sharing and analytics platform to serve all elements of the international research community. Data from thousands of clinical trials from around the world. Access to research teams via application, review and agreement.
WHO Global Health Observatory (GHO) data
Data on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, child nutrition & health, maternal & reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water & sanitation, non communicable diseases & risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence & injuries, equity among others. Query by API is available, with output files in csv, SpreadsheetML and json format.
World Bank DataBank
An analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; save, embed, and share them. Covers indicators, economies, regional and income groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years.
World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS)
An authoritative classification and catalogue of marine organisms, including information on synonym.
World Tourism Organisation Statistics
Data on inbound, domestic and outbound tourism is available, as well as on tourism industries, employment and complementary indicators.
World Values Survey (WVS)
Nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire. A cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values. Covers full range of global variations, from poor to rich countries, in all of the world’s major cultural zones. Data is available in several file formats (SPSS, Stata, Ascii text, Excel).
WorldWide Antimalarial Resistance Network (WWARN)
A collaborative platform generating resources and evidence to inform the malaria community on the factors affecting the efficacy of antimalarial medicines. The platform includes data & analytical tools. Access either open or by application and agreement.
Yale University Open Data Access (YODA) Clinical Research Data
Facilitates access to participant-level clinical research data and/or comprehensive reports of clinical research, such as full Clinical Study Reports [CSRs], with the aim of promoting scientific research that may advance science or lead to improvements in individual and public health and healthcare delivery. Access to researchers by application and review.
Zenodo
A general-purpose open-access repository developed under the European OpenAIRE program. Find data sets, research software and other research related digital artefacts linked to publications.