The Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary database contains about 20,000 terms and is the first genuinely comprehensive Australian legal dictionary. Definitions are presented in an Australian context and supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority, wherever it exists.
This database provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined in legislation or judicially interpreted. It includes details of where the word or phrase has been defined and often the context in which the term is defined.
Oxford Reference is the home of Oxford’s quality reference publishing, bringing together over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, into a single cross-searchable resource. Subject areas include: Art and architecture, biological sciences, food and nutrition, medicine, nursing, law, history, performing arts, politics, social sciences, religion and philosophy, science, computing, economics and business.
Provides coverage of all fields of American law – state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law. From the Westlaw home page, select Secondary Sources, Jurisprudence & Encyclopedias, American jurisprudence.
United States national legal encyclopedia covers all state and federal legal topics. Also provides concise legal analysis with exhaustive case citations, and can be used as a case finder. From the Westlaw home page, select Secondary Sources, Jurisprudence & Encyclopedias, Corpus juris secundum.
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest provides a comprehensive statement of the law of Ontario and the four western provinces - provincial, federal and common law - as derived from the case law and legislation. From the Westlaw home page, select International Materials > Canada > Treatises > Encyclopedia.
Covers the whole spectrum of English law and is designed to enable practitioners to answer the full range of questions likely to arise in the course of their work, especially those which fall outside their own fields of expertise.
Six legal systems – civil law, common law, customary law, Muslim law and mixed systems – are briefly described, and the world’s “political entities” (mostly countries) are listed and classified according to the system under which they operate. The site is created by JuriGlobe, a research group formed by professors from the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa.