Get help

Special education diversity and inclusive education

Find content for special education programs.

Articles and journals

Key journal databases

Searching databases a slightly different process to searching the library or Google.  When searching databases you need to separate your question into the key components and search using those key terms. Databases generally offer a wide variety of refinements and other tools to help find the exact materials you need. 

When setting up your search, select broad key terms, once you have your results you can limit your results to full text and peer reviewed only and also limit the date range. Generally we use Database to find recent materials, in academia that means articles written within the last 5 years. 

Example Question: Examine the historical development of Inclusive education in Australian primary schools

Which broadly breaks down in to:  Inclusive education AND develop* AND Australian primary school*

We use the 'AND' to connect the terms, the * is used to pick up all the suffixed available: Development, developing, develops etc

We can leave out terms like 'historical' in the initial searches and add them after the initial searches using the refinement tools available on the database. For more library tutorials click here.

The following list of Journal Databases has been selected as having the most relevant information for this subject area. 

Find journal articles

Library catalogue: Search for journal articles

Key journals: Scholarly peer-reviewed