Library guides: Biomedical science and biomolecular science: Biomolecular science

Biomolecular science

Databases

PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.

Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/
Embase

Health and biomedical journal articles and research in all health-related disciplines.
ClinicalKey (Elsevier)

Evidence based clinical summaries and guidelines, patient education resources, journal articles, ebooks, videos and drug information for all healthcare and medical disciplines.
Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. It includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
Web of Science

Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
BMJ Journals Online

Medical journals covering all aspects of health and evidence-based practice.

A collection of 27 online medical journals produced by the BMJ Publishing Group. Full-text for the majority of titles is available from 1997.

Journals

Books and e-books

Molecular biology of the cell
This book provides the latest research in cell biology.
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
This book is the main resource for determining the identity of bacteria, emphasizing bacterial species, using every characterizing aspect. It is used to classify bacteria based on their structural and functional attributes by arranging them into specific familial orders.
Medical microbiology
The foremost text in this complex and fast-changing field, this book provides concise, up-to-date, and understandable explanations of key concepts in medical microbiology, immunology, and the microbes that cause human disease.
Brock biology of microorganisms
This book is the leading text on microbiology, with strong coverage of ecology, evolution, and metabolism, paying particular attention to molecular biology and the genomic revolution.

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

Encyclopedia of microbiology
This is a five volume set of books offering an up-to-date and authoritative resource that covers the entire field of microbiology, from basic principles, to applied technologies.
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology
The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.
Encyclopedic reference of genomics and proteomics in molecular medicine
This is the most authoritative and wide-ranging reference on Functional Genomics (the systematic analysis and identification of genes and their function) and Proteomics (the study of the complex structures and functions of proteins) in the rapidly expanding field of Molecular Medicine.