Acquire the evidence - find articles, guidelines and evidence summaries - Evidence based practice (EBP)

Learn about Evidence Based Practice

Evidence-Based Medicine: how to practice and teach EBM by Sharon E. Straus; Paul Glasziou; W. Scott Richardson; R. Brian Haynes
Publication Date: 2019
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
Publication Date: 2014

Acquire the evidence - find articles, guidelines and evidence summaries

Databases for pre-appraised evidence

Cochrane Library
Provides in-depth research summaries (systematic reviews), and research journal articles with a focus on evidence-based medicine and healthcare.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
JBI EBP database (Ovid)
Contains a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence to inform practice.
Summary of licence
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
CINAHL Evidence-based care sheets provide evidence summaries for a range of conditions.
Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals, with extensive full-text coverage available for over 1,200.

MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimized for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.

Summary of licence
TRIP Database
Find evidence-based healthcare resources sourced from across the internet.
PEDro : Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Evidence relevant to physiotherapy including systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

OTseeker
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.

Point-of-care resources

Best Practice
Decision-support tool containing research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion on prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
Summary of licence
UpToDate (Ovid)
Helps answer clinical questions including drug information
NOTE: Griffith University students may access UpToDate on-campus or off-campus. Staff may access UpToDate only when on-campus.
NOTE: Individual personal user accounts are not supported in Griffith University's subscription to UpToDate. The 'Log In' link in the UpToDate interface is not relevant for Griffith users and is to be disregarded.
DynaMed
A decision support tool using current evidence.
NOTE: Griffith students and staff may register for a personal DynaMed account. Having a personal account enables you to log into DynaMed from off-campus using this account instead of authenticating through the Library's proxy server. A personal account is also required to download and use the iOS or Android DynaMed app on mobile devices. -- When registering for a personal account, do not use your Griffith student or staff login and password. Your user ID for the personal account will be your Griffith email address and you must choose your own password.
Therapeutic Guidelines
Find clinical guidelines and therapeutic recommendations for a wide range of medical disorders.
Searchable peer-reviewed clinical guidelines. Topics include analgesia, antibiotics, cardiovascular, respiratory, endocrinology, neurology, gastroenterology, dermatology, palliative care, psychotropics and drug prescribing in pregnancy and breastfeeding.

A mobile app is available for Griffith University staff and students. The app can connect to eTG Complete online, or the eTG Complete content can be downloaded to devices for offline use.
ClinicalKey (Elsevier)
Contains books, journals, videos and images to give quick clinical answers
Summary of licence

Clinical and Best Practice Guidelines databases

NHMRC Clinical Guidelines Portal
Access national clinical practice guidelines via a single entry point. There are links to clinical practice guidelines developed for use in Australian health care settings. Each guideline has been assessed according to rigorous selection criteria.
NHMRC Clinical Practice Guidelines
Contains a range of information on clinical practice Guidelines for the community, and specialist information for researchers, clinicians and other health professionals.
Queensland Health Clinical Guidelines and Procedures
Medical Journal of Australia - Guidelines and statements
National Institute for health and care Excellence (NICE) Guidance - UK
Collection of NICE guidance
National Guideline Clearinghouse (US)
Resource from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) collecting summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

See all health databases

Databases for primary health research

Check the Health subject guides for more discipline specific primary research databases.

Embase
Includes journals and other publications in the biomedical sciences.
Summary of licence
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is one of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. MEDLINE provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
50 simultaneous user limit.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
Contains journals and other publications for nursing and allied health.
Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals, with extensive full-text coverage available for over 1,200.

MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimized for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.

Summary of licence