A magnificently illustrated guide to the global history of architecture. Gives you a deeper knowledge and wider perspective of traditions in architecture throughout the world - from prehistoric through modern structures.
Off the Plan by Caryl Bosman (Editor); Aysin Dedekorkut-Howes (Editor); Andrew Leach (Editor)The Gold Coast is a well-known and loved destination for local and international tourists, a city of surf and sun, pleasure and leisure. However, it is also one of the fastest growing cities in Australia, occupying the largest urban footprint outside the state capitals. How did the Gold Coast come to be what it is today? Off the Planis the first in-depth, multidisciplinary academic study on the urbanization and development of the Gold Coast. It addresses the historical circumstances, both accidental and intentional, that led to the Gold Coast's infamous transition from a collection of settlements unburdened by planning regulations or a city center to become Australia's sixth largest city. With chapters on tourism, environment, media, architecture, governance and politics, planning, transportation, real estate development and demographics, Off the Plandemonstrates the importance that historical analysis has in understanding present-day planning problems and the value of the Gold Coast as a model for the rapidly evolving western city.
Covers architecture and design including archaeology, architects' obituturaries, furniture and decoration, green design, historic preservation, history of architecture, interior design, landscape architecture, sustainable development and urban planning.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, published by the Getty Research Institute, is the only comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks, and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
MOBILE ACCESS: Site will automatically detect screen size and adjust accordingly. Summary of licence
This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Subjects covered include architecture and architectural history, art history, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design and landscape architecture.
The Australian Architectural Index is a tool for building researchers and architects, covering over 50,000 items from as far back as 1830, including tender notices, published descriptions of buildings, illustrations, and architect biographies. Although Australia-wide in its coverage, the majority of content is Victorian.
An online streaming film collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art and architecture, and providing access to the seminal artists and works who continue to inspire the artists, architects, designers and critics of today.
OnArchitecture's collection features original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, with a selection of complementary material such as documents and audiovisuals, about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.
Over 10,000 images ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Parc de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project, searchable by title, nation or city.
By 1908, Frank Lloyd Wright was considered the most innovative architect in Chicago. He traveled to Mason City, Iowa, to design a unique business block- a bank and an adjoining hotel, facing a park. Soon, scandal and tragedy would ruin his career, but the Park Inn would remain, one of his last Prairie style...
The American architect most responsible for the new image of the architect as artist is documented in this film at a point in his career when he advances from experimental, private houses to complex institutions and large-scale collaborative urban projects. Our recent film FRANK GEHRY: An Architecture of Joy...