Library guides: Architecture: Sustainable architecture

Sustainable architecture

Books

Sustainable design: a critical guide by David Bergman
Provides a concise overview of all the techniques available for reducing the energy footprint of structures and spaces.

Databases

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (ProQuest)
A comprehensive international index to current design and design-related journals, short articles, news items, conference and seminar reports, reviews of books, video, films and exhibitions, obituary notices and illustrations.
A comprehensive international index to current design and design-related journals. Provides annotated entries from more than 500 major national and international design and craft journals published since 1973. In addition to major articles, DAAI also lists short articles, new items, conference and seminar reports, reviews of books, video, films and exhibitions, obituary notices and illustrations.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Environmental Studies (Alexander Street Press)
A collection of films covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. The collection addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.

Videos

Intervention Architecture
Explores architecture that creates positive change economically, culturally, environmentally and socially.
Super Use
Explores the complex social, political, cultural, environmental and economic issues of sustainable architecture.
Power Tower
In downtown Guangzhou, China, one of the greenest structures on earth is rising. Known as Pearl River Tower, the 71-storey building will rely on just wind and sunlight for its power supply. This green skyscraper epitomizes the super tall corporate headquarter buildings of tomorrow.
Think Green, Episode 33
Houses of the Future. UK’s Royal Institute of British Architects have held a competition to find innovative solutions to urban home design.

Websites

Green Building Council Australia - GBCA
A national, not-for-profit organisation that is committed to developing a sustainable property industry for Australia by encouraging the adoption of green building practices.
AECB: the sustainable building association
AECB was formed in 1989 to encourage environmental awareness within the UK construction industry. It aims to make available comprehensive information and guidance about environmentally responsible products, methods and projects.
ASBEC: Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council
ASBEC aims to be the peak consultative forum on built environment sustainability in Australia and to develop a uniform built environment industry response to the environmental and ecological issues that now face the industry. The website includes links to government submissions and research reports.