Images and videos
Databases
- Grove Art Online
Includes links to articles and art images in major galleries and museums. Architecture, design, visual arts.
- Artstor on JSTORProvides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Includes contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
- Luna CommonsImages from diverse subects and collections. Often has higher quality images to zoom in on for detailed study.
- Architecture Library (Bloomsbury)Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. The platform offers access to a curated collection of fully-searchable text and image content, incorporating the new edition of Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture.
- Australian Architectural IndexThe Australian Architectural Index is a tool for building researchers and architects, covering over 50,000 items from as far back as 1830, including tender notices, published descriptions of buildings, illustrations, and architect biographies. Although Australia-wide in its coverage, the majority of content is Victorian.
Websites
- OpenVersePreviously Creative Commons search page. An open source webpage where users can search for over 600 million images and artworks that are able to be legally re-used and re-purposed under Creative Commons re-use licences. If images are used, they must adhere to Creative Commons licence conditions.
- Cities and Buildings DatabaseOver 10,000 images ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Parc de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project, searchable by title, nation or city.
- QImageryA searchable database of historical images of regions and towns in Queensland taken from the 1960's to 2009.
- Digital Archive of Queensland ArchitectureA website database of images of Queensland architecture. This currently focusses on architecture between 1945 and 1975, but is in the process of being expanded.
- PixabayA web database of public domain images able to be downloaded, re-used and re-purposed.
- Digilib: Architecture image libraryArchitectural images comprised of two collections: Queensland Country Towns, a collection of Queensland historic buildings and Queensland Contemporary Architects, a selection of images of the work of some Queensland architects.
Videos
- OnArchitectureOnArchitecture's collection features original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, all of this enriched with a selection of complementary material - documents and audiovisuals - about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.
- Art & Architecture (Alexander Street Press)An online streaming film collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art and architecture, and providing access to the seminal artists and works who continue to inspire the artists, architects, designers and critics of today.
