Library guides: Education (Early Childhood, Primary and Secondary): Databases and journals

Databases and journals

Databases

Library databases contain scholarly literature such as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. Griffith subscribes to the databases listed in the box below which are of particular relevance for Education. Some are relevant across the whole discipline of Education, and some for specific subsets such as Health & Physical Education. There are also other databases that may include relevant information for your Education studies (e.g. databases covering Psychology and Sociology).

Library databases for Education

A+ Education (Informit)
Journal articles for education theory and practice.
A+ Education is the full text version of the Australian Education Index (AEI). Like AEI it indexes a wide range of published resources on all aspects of education. NOTE: Coverage - Full text coverage for some journals from 2000 to present : index, 1978 to present.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Includes journals, curriculum and teaching guides, and other publications for education.
An international bibliographic database covering the literature on all aspects of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education (RIE), covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), covering the published journal literature from over 775 periodicals.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Education Database
Covers primary, secondary, and higher education; also includes special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

SPORTDiscus
Abstracts and indexes journals and other publications covering sports medicine, health, exercise physiology and related fields.
more...

Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
50 simultaneous user limit.
SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Taylor and Francis Journals
Journals and other publications for all disciplines published by Taylor and Francis.
Online access to journals published by the Taylor & Francis Group (including the imprints Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Carfax, Spon, Psychology Press and Garland Science). Coverage is mainly in the social sciences and humanities.
Mobile access: Optimised for use on mobile devices.

What about Google Scholar?

Accessing Griffith-subscribed full-text content via Google Scholar

The Full Text@Griffith links appear next to a result when that item is available in full text via our Griffith library subscriptions. If you are using the Griffith network to connect to Google Scholar, these links appear automatically. Alternatively, if you are accessing Google Scholar directly on the web, you can set up the Full Text@Griffith links.

Key journals

More Education journals can be found in BrowZine.