Open textbooks
Open Educational Resources (OERs)
Open Educational Resources (OERs) or open texts are academic texts free for everyone to use. Open textbooks are an excellent alternative to commercially published texts.
Using open textbooks for courses and readings provides high-quality, free resources for students and academics and can reduce the costs of study.
Academic staff can publish customised open texts for courses with support from the Library. Find out more on the Library website.
Open textbook collections
-
PressbooksInternational collection of open access textbooks written by academics in collaboration with Open Education Network.
-
Open Textbook LibraryA collection of open textbooks across all disciplines.
-
OER Textbooks Collections from Southern Cross UniversityDiscipline focused open text collections, curated by Southern Cross University Library.
-
Open education resources collectiveAustralian & New Zealand collection of open access textbooks created by academics, funded by Council of Australasian University Librarians.
-
OpenStaxRice University initiative of open learning resources for K-12 and higher education.
-
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)Index of and access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books.
-
FreeTechBooksFree online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks and lecture notes available with different types of licences for reuse. Browse by category or search by keyword.
-
Smarthistory - Centre for public art historyFree digital Art History books and learning materials developed by leading art historians, curators, archaeologists, knowledge-bearers, and artists.
