Library guides: Information technology: Get started

Get started

Search for Information Technology resources in the Library Catalogue

You can't get by without...

IEEE Xplore

Access journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.

IEL provides access to more than 1.7 million full-text searchable conference and journal articles published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). There is a full backfile to 1988, with some content going back to 1913. All active IEEE standards are also included in the IEL subscription.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices. To access click to icon of mobile phone.
IEEE Xplore

20 simultaneous user limit.
ACM Digital Library

Access journals, magazines, conference proceedings, books and special interest group papers from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and other publishers on computing research.

The ACM Digital Library contains full-text articles from all of the journals and magazines published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) from 1991 to the latest issue plus all of the ACM conference proceedings for the same period. Over 250,000 pages of text covering all aspects of computing are available for searching.
Computer Science Database (ProQuest)

This database includes leading computer journals in the field of database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost)

Covers all aspects of business, commerce, finance, accounting, marketing, management and economics, with full text and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals. In addition to essential peer-reviewed journals, business students can access case studies, country economic reports, SWOT analyses, market research reports and industry and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts.
Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. It includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.

CiteSeer
CiteSeer (formerly known as ResearchIndex) is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

Web of Science

Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.

arXiv.org e-Print archive
An e-print service which presents papers in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

ScienceDirect

Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database, with full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences, and humanities.