Politics, security and international studies

Provides access to journal articles in the social sciences and humanities. Source documents include a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books. NOTE: Coverage - articles, 1995 to present ; index, 1978 to present.
Summary of licence

A list of titles available in Factiva can be found at https://proquest.libguides.com/factiva/content .

With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find relevant information quickly.
Gale Academic OneFile also offers videos, podcasts and transcripts, and full-text of The Times, Financial Times and The Economist from 1998 to the present and the New York Times from 1985 to the present.

Gale Academic OneFile includes the Gale database Expanded Academic ASAP as a subset. In July 2019 this subset (Expanded Academic ASAP) was rebranded as Gale Academic OneFile Select.

Summary of licence

As of July 2019, Gale OneFile: News is the new name for InfoTrac Newsstand.

ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Summary of licence

Provides access to journal articles in the social sciences and humanities. Source documents include a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books. NOTE: Coverage - articles, 1995 to present ; index, 1978 to present.
Summary of licence

Subject-indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs will allow users to quickly retrieve and analyze material relevant to their own research or study. Users will also have access to the full-text of Chatham House's publications and audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts.

Summary of licence (for CIAO online books)
Summary of licence (for CIAO journals)

This database contains the most comprehensive set of declassified U.S. government documents available, comprising over 30 collections which have been compiled by top scholars and experts and covering the most critical world events, countries and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
Summary of licence

Covers Agriculture, Arts, Asian Studies, Business, Cultural Studies, Education, Health, Medicine, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Media, Political Science, Reference, Social Sciences, Science and Technology. NOTE: Coverage - 1940 to present.
Summary of licence

4 simultaneous user limit.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks, and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
MOBILE ACCESS: Site will automatically detect screen size and adjust accordingly.
Summary of licence

It has been sourced from distinguished libraries and archives across the world but also premiers some previously hidden treasure troves. With an extensive scope of content focused on political extremism and radical thought, this archive covers a broad assortment of both far-right and left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera, which allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements in new and innovative ways and to understand what impact they have had on today's society.The collections cover a period of just over a century (1900s to 2010s) when the world saw the formation of several civil rights movements for the rights of minorities, women's rights, and gay rights. It also encompasses the rise and fall of a number of peripheral groups deemed 'extreme' or 'radical' by contemporaries, such as anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, white supremacist, and white nationalist. Global in scope, although the archive presents materials largely from the US and Britain, it also showcases important factions from Europe and Australia, such as the Norwegian Nazi Party and the Australian National Socialist Party. By spanning multiple geographic regions, the resource shows both the cultural impact of radical groups at a national level as well as the international networking and cross-border exchanges of extreme political movements. Extremist literature has always been difficult to find because its authors intend the material for a limited number of true believers. Consequently, print runs tend to be small and erratic or materials are intentionally ephemeral in nature, for instance stickers, leaflets, or pamphlets. In most instances it has taken a dedicated effort to amass and organize collections of this type. These records provide a unique, behind-the-scenes view of often inaccessible groups, such as the John Birch Society or the Black Panther Party.

Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.
Summary of licence

Distinct modules are available that include datasets and video content (SRM Datasets, and SRM Video).

Summary of licence