Library guides: Learning languages: Get started

Get started

Key databases

Language and Linguistics Compass (Wiley)
Online journal that publishes articles and review literature on the latest research in language and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography With Full Text (EBSCOhost)
MLA International Bibliography With Full Text indexes articles covering modern languages, literatures, dramatic arts, folklore and linguistics.
Content includes millions of detailed bibliographic citations, access to the MLA Thesaurus, and full-text for around 1,000 journals with complete backfiles for around 50 journals. A number of journals have 12- or 18-month embargoes on the current content.
ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.

Dictionaries

Find dictionaries in the library catalogue by combining terms such as:

Chinese / English-Chinese / Chinese-English
Japanese / English-Japanese / Japanese-English
Italian / English-Italian / Italian-English
Spanish / English-Spanish / Spanish-English

With other relevant terms such as:

dictionary
phrasebook

Use these search tips for searching the catalogue more effectively.

Key dictionaries

Researching, writing and referencing help

Study and assignment skills
Develop your study and digital skills and improve your researching, writing and editing.
Referencing
Self-help resources, including examples of how to reference in various styles.
Academic integrity matters
Introduces you to academic integrity and provides resources to support your commitment to academic integrity.
Systematic-style review
This web page will be of interest to anyone conducting or intending to conduct a systematic-style review (e.g., systematic, scoping, integrative, rapid, systematic quantitative literature review, etc.)