Library guides: Occupational therapy: Get started

Want to improve your research skills?

Prepare to Search

Have a look at research techniques to help you retrieve the best search results.

Not sure how to search the library catalogue?

Search for information

Information on searching the library catalogue effectively, using refinements and saving and emailing search results.

Get started

You can't get by without

CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive database of journal articles and other publications for nursing and allied health. Coverage includes nursing specialties, speech pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals, with extensive full-text coverage available for over 1,200.

MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimized for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is one of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. MEDLINE provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
Embase
Includes journals and other publications in the biomedical sciences.

View more health databases
more...less...
Nursing, medicine, dentistry and allied health

Search the library catalogue

Search for books, journal articles and other resources in the library catalogue

Featured reference resources

To check a definition, clarify unfamiliar words, gather background information on your topic, and/or develop your understanding of its terminology, an excellent place to start is to use an authoritative online or hard copy dictionary, encyclopedia and other reference material.

A Dictionary of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
This dictionary provides up-to-date definitions of the terms used in the related fields of occupational science and occupational therapy. Entries cover a broad range of topics from activities of daily living and autonomy to task-oriented approach and work-life balance and have a clear occupational focus. They provide an overview of the complex nature of human occupation and the impact of illness, injury, social exclusion, marginalization, or transition, for example, on occupation and well-being. Descriptions and analysis are backed up by key theories from related areas such as anthropology, sociology, and medicine.
The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health
This set provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.