Databases and journals
Key databases
- Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
Covers all aspects of business, commerce, finance, accounting, marketing, management and economics, with full text and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals. In addition to essential peer-reviewed journals, business students can access case studies, country economic reports, SWOT analyses, market research reports and industry and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts.
- JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
- IBISWorld
IBISWorld for Australia provides insights on Australian industries, companies, and key business indicators. Included are Australian industry reports that cover key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance. Segments available are: Australian Industry Reports (ANZSIC), Australia Specialized Industry Reports, Australia SME Industry Reports, Australia Business Environment Profiles, and Australia & New Zealand Enterprise Profiles.
- Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
- SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
- AustLit
An authoritative index providing bibliographic, biographical, critical and production information about Australian literature, authors and literary organisations. Full text is available for some works including poetry, criticism, novels, BlackWords, reviews and children's literature.
Helpful databases
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. To search Arts and Humanities Citation Index separately in Web of Science, click 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Arts and Humanities Citation Index' checked.
- Gale Academic OneFile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources across a wide range of subjects.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for the arts, communication, education, history, linguistics, politics and more.
- Australian Heritage Bibliography (via Informit)Covers information on Australia's natural and cultural environment, including national parks, endangered species, wilderness areas, important historical and archaeological sites, historic buildings, structures and towns and is produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. NOTE: Coverage - 1987 to present.
- Indigenous Australia (via Informit)Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library and covers Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, Stolen generation, removal of children, Arts, copyright issues, Racism, discrimination, Internet and telecommunications facilities and Communities. NOTE: Coverage - 1968 to December 2002.
Key journals
- Asia Pacific Public Relations Journal"Asia Pacific Public Relations Journal is published by Deakin University, School of Communication and Creative Arts. It publishes original papers on public relations and related areas and encourages papers in research, theory, professional practice, comment, case studies and book reviews."
- Institute of Public Affairs review"A quarterly review of politics and public affairs"
- Journal of Communication Management"The Journal of Communication Management (JCOM) is the definitive international journal for research-oriented communication managers and professionals as well as for researchers who aim to develop or challenge practice."
- Journal of Public Relations Research"Journal of Public Relations Research publishes research on the theory, practice, philosophy and ethics of public relations."
- PRismPRism is a peer-reviewed journal covering topics in public relations and communication research.
- Public Relations Review"The Public Relations Review is the oldest journal devoted to articles that examine public relations in depth, and commentaries by specialists in the field. Most of the articles are based on empirical research undertaken by professionals and academics in the field."
