Library guides: Social justice: Databases and journals

Databases and journals

Key journal databases

Journal databases index and often provide abstracts and/or the full text of articles in a wide range of journals in a discipline. Search these to find journal articles on your research topic.

AGIS Plus Text (Informit)
Covers all aspects of Commonwealth-based law in the south pacific.
Covers all aspects of law and is produced by the AGIS Section of the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra. NOTE: Coverage - full text articles, 1999 to present ; index, 1975 to present.
Summary of licence
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Provides access to journal articles in the social sciences and humanities. Source documents include a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books. NOTE: Coverage - articles, 1995 to present ; index, 1978 to present.
Summary of licence
Gale Academic OneFile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources across a wide range of subjects.
With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find relevant information quickly.
Gale Academic OneFile also offers videos, podcasts and transcripts, and full-text of The Times, Financial Times and The Economist from 1998 to the present and the New York Times from 1985 to the present.

Gale Academic OneFile includes the Gale database Expanded Academic ASAP as a subset. In July 2019 this subset (Expanded Academic ASAP) was rebranded as Gale Academic OneFile Select.

Summary of licence
HeinOnline
Provides access to law journals, treaties, legal classics and trials from the United States.
HeinOnline is a database of full text legal research resources. Summary of licence
Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for the arts, communication, education, history, linguistics, politics and more.
Covers Agriculture, Arts, Asian Studies, Business, Cultural Studies, Education, Health, Medicine, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Media, Political Science, Reference, Social Sciences, Science and Technology. NOTE: Coverage - 1940 to present.
Summary of licence
JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks, and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
MOBILE ACCESS: Site will automatically detect screen size and adjust accordingly.
Summary of licence
ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Summary of licence
Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
50 simultaneous user limit.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Find the details of literature relating to social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. NOTE: Coverage - 1979 to present.
Provides abstracts and indexes of current research focused on social work, human services, and related disciplines, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Social Theory (Alexander Street Press)
Find an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization.
Summary of licence
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences.
Summary of licence
Wiley Online Library
Contains a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.
Summary of licence (for Wiley ejournals and Compasses)

Summary of licence (for Wiley online books)

Summary of licence (for Wiley online reference works)

Key journals

Australian Journal of Social Issues
An interdisciplinary forum for debate on significant and controversial social issues. Articles which discuss particular social issues, review conceptual problems, present empirical reports and debate policy alternatives.
Contemporary readings in law and social justice
"Promotes critical discussions on problems of social justice, including exploring the meanings of justice that arise in a diverse society, and draws on cross disciplinary research and scholarship to address social justice issues of immediate and wide ranging concern." - Gale description
Education, citizenship and social justice
"Education, Citizenship and Social Justice provides a strategic forum for international and multi-disciplinary dialogue for all academic educators and educational policy-makers concerned with the meanings and form of citizenship and social justice as these are realised throughout the time spent in educational institutions." - journal homepage
The journal of poverty and social justice : research, policy, practice
"The Journal of Poverty and Social Justice provides an internationally unique forum for leading research on the themes of poverty and social justice. Focusing on poverty and social exclusion, the journal explores links with social security (including pensions and tax credits), employment, area regeneration, housing, health, education and criminal justice, as well as issues of ethnicity, gender, disability, and other social inequalities as they relate to social justice." - journal homepage
Social justice research
"Social Justice Research publishes original papers that have broad implications for social scientists investigating the origins, structures, and consequences of justice in human affairs. The journal encompasses justice-related research work using traditional and novel approaches, and spanning the social sciences and beyond: psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, social policy research, political science, law, management science, and others." - journal homepage
Studies in social justice
"Journal focuses on debates that move beyond conventional notions of social justice, and views social justice as a critical concept that is integral in the analysis of policy formation, rights, participation, social movements, and transformations. Social justice is analysed in the context of processes involving nationalism, social and public policy, globalization, diasporas, culture, gender, ethnicity, sexuality, welfare, poverty, war, and other social phenomena."