Library guides: Vocational and adult education: Databases and journals

Databases and journals

Key databases

The databases listed here have been selected by library and academic staff to give you a good start on finding the information you need. Each of these database will cover a variety of subject areas with differing levels of authority.

A+ Education (Informit)
Journal articles for education theory and practice.

A+ Education is the full text version of the Australian Education Index (AEI). Like AEI it indexes a wide range of published resources on all aspects of education. NOTE: Coverage - Full text coverage for some journals from 2000 to present : index, 1978 to present.
Career and Technical Education Database (ProQuest)

Covers careers and vocations, trade and industry, and job search. Technical topics include computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design and photography.
Education Database

Covers primary, secondary, and higher education; also includes special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Education research index (ProQuest)

Includes journals, curriculum and teaching guides, and other publications for education found in ERIC.

The ProQuest Education Research Index has been developed in direct response to uncertainty around the future scope of the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC is the world’s most widely used index to education-related literature. To ensure ongoing, reliable access to this foundational content, the ProQuest Education Research Index includes ERIC alongside ProQuest Supplemental Education Index, a newly created index that covers the majority of scholarly journals currently indexed by ERIC.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Gale Research Complete

Includes access to journal articles, newspapers, reference material, audio content and ebooks across multiple disciplines. It also includes access to Gale Primary Sources.
This collection includes access to:
- Archives Unbound
- Gale Academic OneFile
- Gale Business: Insights
- Gale eBooks
- Gale General OneFile
- Gale Literature Criticism
- Gale Literature Resource Center
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Gale Literature: LitFinder
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
- Gale Literature: Something About the Author
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series
- Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
- Gale OneFile: News.
ProQuest One Education

ProQuest One Education brings together the content needed for study and research of education onto an intuitive and user-friendly interface created specifically for the discipline. Content includes scholarly journals, books, videos, reports, dissertations, news articles and more.
Psycinfo (Ovid)

A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.

50 simultaneous user limit.
Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. It includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
VOCEDplus
Covers vocational education and training (VET), higher education, adult and community education, informal learning, and VET in Schools. It is international in scope and has extensive coverage of Australian material.

Key journals

Australian Educational Researcher
The Australian Educational Researcher (AER) provides a forum for education researchers to debate internationally relevant issues across all levels of education.
Australian Journal of Adult Learning
The 'Australian Journal of Adult Learning' is an official publication of Adult Learning Australia Inc. (ALA). It is concerned with promoting critical thinking and research in the field of adult learning as well as the theory, research and practice of adult and community education.
Empirical Research in Vocational Education and Training
Addresses vocational education and training-specific questions from different academic disciplines.
International Journal of Training and Development
The International Journal of Training and Development (IJTD) is an international forum for the reporting of high-quality research on training and development aims and purposes, determinants, practice, policy and strategy.
Journal of vocational education and training
The Journal of Vocational Education and Training is a peer-reviewed international journal covering the study of curriculum, pedagogy, and assessment, as well as economic, cultural and political aspects related to the role of vocational and occupational education and training in society.
Studies in Continuing Education
Studies in Continuing Education is a scholarly journal concerned with all aspects of continuing, professional and lifelong learning.
The Journal of Workplace Learning
The scope of the Journal of Workplace Learning (JWL) encompasses formal, informal and incidental learning in the workplace for individuals, groups and teams, as well as work-based learning, and off-the-job learning for the workplace.
Teaching in Higher Education
Publishes research on the effects of teaching policy, practice and funding and societal expectation on higher education teaching and pedagogical outcomes.

More journals can be found in BrowZine.