Library guides: Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL): Databases and journals

Databases and journals

Search Tips

Find journal articles on your assignment or research topic by using the the databases below. Most of these databases focus on specific aspects of education, while some are multi-disciplinary.

Key journal databases

Use these key databases to search for journal articles in the areas of TESOL and Linguistics.

A+ Education (Informit)
Journal articles for education theory and practice.
A+ Education is the full text version of the Australian Education Index (AEI). Like AEI it indexes a wide range of published resources on all aspects of education. NOTE: Coverage - Full text coverage for some journals from 2000 to present : index, 1978 to present.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Provides access to journal articles in the social sciences and humanities. Source documents include a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books. NOTE: Coverage - articles, 1995 to present ; index, 1978 to present.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Includes journals, curriculum and teaching guides, and other publications for education.
An international bibliographic database covering the literature on all aspects of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education (RIE), covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), covering the published journal literature from over 775 periodicals.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Gale Academic OneFile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources across a wide range of subjects.
With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find relevant information quickly.
Gale Academic OneFile also offers videos, podcasts and transcripts, and full-text of The Times, Financial Times and The Economist from 1998 to the present and the New York Times from 1985 to the present.

Gale Academic OneFile includes the Gale database Expanded Academic ASAP as a subset. In July 2019 this subset (Expanded Academic ASAP) was rebranded as Gale Academic OneFile Select.
Language and Linguistics Compass (Wiley)
Online journal that publishes articles and review literature on the latest research in language and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography With Full Text (EBSCOhost)
MLA International Bibliography With Full Text indexes articles covering modern languages, literatures, dramatic arts, folklore and linguistics.
Content includes millions of detailed bibliographic citations, access to the MLA Thesaurus, and full-text for around 1,000 journals with complete backfiles for around 50 journals. A number of journals have 12- or 18-month embargoes on the current content.
Education Database
Covers primary, secondary, and higher education; also includes special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Psycinfo (Ovid)
A comprehensive database for psychology and behavioural science. Also covers other disciplines including artifical intelligence, business, education, medicine, law, linguistics, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, political science, psychology, social work, sociology and sports.
50 simultaneous user limit.

Key journals: scholarly peer-reviewed

Australian review of applied linguistics
This peer reviewed journal covers: first and second language teaching and learning, bilingualism and bilingual education, the use of technologies in language teaching and learning, corpus linguistics, discourse analysis, translation and interpreting, language testing, language planning, academic literacies and rhetoric.
TESOL Quarterly
TESOL Quarterly is a refereed journal published on behalf of TESOL International Association. Topics relate to English language teaching and learning, policy, psychology and sociology of language learning and teaching, professional preparation, curriculum development and testing and evaluation.
TESOL in context
TESOL in Context is the peer-reviewed publication of the Australian Council for TESOL Associations (ACTA) for teachers, researchers and others interested in TESOL within Australia and internationally.
Applied linguistics (UK)
Applied Linguistics publishes research into language with relevance to real-world problems.The journal is keen to help make connections between fields, theories, research methods, and scholarly discourses.