Library guides: Aviation: Get started

Get started

You can't get by without...

Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA)
Provides current CASA standards - pilot guides, airworthiness, safety management, dangerous goods, etc. in full-text. Includes: rules and procedures, manuals and forms, standards and legislation covering the people and businesses involved in the aviation industry in Australia. Also includes media releases and Flight Safety magazine.

Engineering (Alexander Street Press)
Education and training in engineering providing existing and emerging engineers with the tools to respond, includes documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures.
ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
ScienceDirect
Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database covering research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.

MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Knovel
Collection of handbooks, conference papers, datasets and reference sources in applied science, technology and engineering. Contains significant resources in the aviation and aerospace industries.
Techstreet
Provides access to all current Australian standards plus draft standards and handbooks.
2 simultaneous user limit.
IEEE Xplore
Access journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.
IEL provides access to more than 1.7 million full-text searchable conference and journal articles published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). There is a full backfile to 1988, with some content going back to 1913. All active IEEE standards are also included in the IEL subscription.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices. To access click to icon of mobile phone.
IEEE Xplore

20 simultaneous user limit.
Informit abstract/index databases
Index and abstract database covering a wide range of subject areas. Chiefly Australian content. On 'Select Databases' page, click 'Clear All' button, scroll to 'Abstract/Index Databases' and/or 'Archive Abstract/Index Databases' section, and select required database/s for searching. Databases include the Australian Transport Index (ATRI).