Marine Science

A web based information database on the biology of fishes. FishBase provides information on fish biology, including descriptions of morphology, metabolism, gill area, brain size, eye pigment, swimming speed, diet, tropic levels, predators, genetic traits and allele frequencies, fish distribution including population dynamics by country, and fish taxonomy.

A web based information database on the biology of sea life. SeaLifeBase aims to provide information on scientific and common names, distribution by country, FAO area, ecosystem, depth, dimensions IUCN and CITES status, habitats, food features, reproduction features, drawings and photos. The objective of the SeaLifeBase project is to create an online information system on marine species for approximately 200,000 marine species.

FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN) Fisheries and Aquaculture undertakes the worldwide collection, compilation, analysis and diffusion of data and information in fisheries and aquaculture. Includes global statistics on fish capture, aquaculture production and consumption.

Provides links to 3 OECD statistical publications: the OECD Factbook, Environmental Data Compendium, and Key Environmental Indicators.

A collection of information developed by the World Resources Institute. It covers ecosystems, natural resources, climate and environmental governance around the world. It offers a large breadth of statistical, graphical, and analytical data in easily accessible formats.

Most comprehensive source of information on the marine biodiversity of the North East Atlantic.

OBIS contains over 13.6 million records from over 200 separate contributing databases. It can be searched by species or geographically.

Provides comprehensive information about Australia's coast, including its estuaries, coastal waterways and climate change impact. Includes interactive maps, conceptual models, and risk assessment tools.

Collection of resources gathered together by the CSIRO of current and previous coastal research projects, research findings, reports, publications and links to a range of available data and metadata.

Portal to access data, maps and images pertaining to Australian waters, gathered by scientists from the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation. Users can request access to the data by registering their email address.

A portal providing openly accessible data and information from routine observations on equipment throughout Australia’s coastal and open oceans. It includes data from the six Commonwealth Agencies with responsibilities in the Australian marine jurisdiction (AAD, AIMS, BOM, CSIRO, GA and RAN).

An interactive mapping and decision support system giving access to integrated government and non-government information in the Australian Marine Jurisdiction.

Provides access to the Department's photographic collection with the aim of promoting environmental issues and for educational purposes. Images are free but students must apply for permission to use them.

Photos from the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority's collection. Students are welcome to use the images for their assignments but credit must be given.

A free, interactive online mapping service of marine and coastal areas of Australia provided by Geoscience Australia. It allows users to preview and download the GEODATA TOPO 250K Series 3 data with a standard browser interface.