Books
Books
Oceanography and marine biology: an annual reviewA highly respected book covering the biological, physical and chemical aspects of oceanography and marine science.
The biology of coral reefsProvides an integrated overview of the function, physiology, ecology, and behaviour of coral reef organisms. Particular emphasis is placed on the conservation and management of coral reefs due to the habitat's critically endangered status.
Marine ecologyExamines the ecological issues of marine ecosystems in unprecedented scope and depth. With contributions from an impressive group of Australian and New Zealand authors.
Coral reefs : an ecosystem in transitionThis book focuses on the latest developments in coral evolution and physiology, including the molecular biology of corals and their symbiotic algae, remote sensing of reef systems, coral disease spread, effects of climate change, ocean acidification effects, and damaged coral reef remediation.
E-book collections
- Springerlink environmental sciencesAllows you to search or browse over 6000 scholarly books and reference works in all areas of environmental sciences.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralA cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic publishers. New titles are being added regularly.
- ENVIRO netBASE e-booksENVIRO netBASE provides access to over 1000 full text handbooks and manuals covering all aspects of environmental science published by CRC Press.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Coastal Science by This thoroughly revised and expanded edition of the much acclaimed Encyclopedia of Coastal Science edited by M. Schwarz (Springer 2005), presents an interdisciplinary approach that includes biology, ecology, engineering, geology, geomorphology, oceanography, remote sensing, technological advances, and anthropogenic impacts on coasts. Within its covers the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science, 2nd ed. brings together and coordinates many aspects of coastal and related sciences that are widely dispersed in the scientific literature. The broadly interdisciplinary subject matter of this volume features contributions by over 280 well-known international specialists in their respective fields and provides an abundance of figures in full-color with line drawings and photographs, and other illustrations such as satellite images. Not only does this volume offer a large number of new and revised entries, it also includes an illustrated glossary of coastal geomorphology, extensive bibliographic citations, and cross-references. It provides a comprehensive reference work for students, scientific and technical professionals as well as administrators, managers, and informed lay readers. Reviews from the first edition: Awarded for Excellence in Scholarly and Professional Publishing: "Honorable Mention", in the category Single Volume/Science from the Association of American Publishers (AAP) 2005. "The contents and approach are interdisciplinary and, under a single cover, one finds subjects normally scattered throughout scientific literature." "The topics cover a broad spectrum, so does the geographic range of the contributors. ... besides geomorphologists, biologists, ecologists, engineers, geographers, geologists, oceanographers and technologists will find information related to their respective fields ... . Inclusion of appendices ... is very useful. The illustrated glossary of geomorphology will prove very useful for many of us ... ." Roger H. Charlier, Journal of Coastal Research, Volume 21, Issue 4, Page 866, July 2005. "It is an excellent work that should be included in any carefully selected list of best science reference books of the year "Summing Up: Highly recommended. " M.L. Larsgaard, Choice, Volume 43, Issue 6, Page 989, February 2006. "This volume is a comprehensive collection of articles covering all aspects of the subject: social and economic, engineering, coastal processes, habitats, erosion, geological features, research and observation." ... "As with similar works reviewed, I chose to read articles on familiar topics to see if they covered the expected, and some on unfamiliar topics to see if they could be readily understood. The book passed both tests, but the style is denser and more fact-filled than most of the encyclopedias I have reviewed." John Goodier, Reference Reviews, Volume 20, Issue 2, pages 35-36, 2006ISBN: 9783319938066Publication Date: 2019
- Encyclopedia of underwater lifeThis encyclopedia describes in detail the anatomy, behaviour, habitat, breeding, and conservation status of fish and aquatic invertebrates that inhabit rivers, lakes and oceans.
