Library guides: Marine Science: Articles and journals

Articles and journals

Databases

Web of Science
Abstracts and indexes journals and conference proceedings for all subject areas relevant for marine studies, such as oceanography, marine biology & ecology, fisheries, evolutionary biology, zoology, geochemistry, geophysics, remote sensing, physics, water resources, engineering, government & law.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings in many disciplines relevant to marine science, such as oceanography, ocean engineering, marine ecology, ecological modelling, evolution, climate change, environmental chemistry, geochemistry, physics, energy and political science.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
CSIRO Journals
Presents the latest research in all aspects of marine and oceanic studies, published by the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, the top government organisation for scientific research in Australia.
ScienceDirect
Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database covering research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.

MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.

SeaLifeBase
A web based information database on the biology of sea life. SeaLifeBase aims to provide information on scientific and common names, distribution by country, FAO area, ecosystem, depth, dimensions IUCN and CITES status, habitats, food features, reproduction features, drawings and photos. The objective of the SeaLifeBase project is to create an online information system on marine species for approximately 200,000 marine species.
more...less...
Unlimited users.

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and abstract journals and other publications covering all aspects of environmental science, with a focus on human interaction.
An index database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines. All content is freely available to view on the web.

Theses

Theses
by Digital Library Services Last Updated May 8, 2024 951 views this year

Top Science Journals

Science magazine