Covers material on the Great Barrier Reef, including coastal zone management, conservation, coral reef ecology, economics, environmental impact assessment, fisheries, history, indigenous natural resource management, marine archaeology, marine biology, marine park management and planning, natural resource management, oceanography, recreation, scuba diving, sea rights, shipping and ports, social studies, tourism, water quality, world heritage and zoology. NOTE: Coverage - 1982 to present.
A web based information database on the biology of fishes. FishBase provides information on fish biology, including descriptions of morphology, metabolism, gill area, brain size, eye pigment, swimming speed, diet, tropic levels, predators, genetic traits and allele frequencies, fish distribution including population dynamics by country, and fish taxonomy.
The IOC is an international organisation that assists governments to address their individual and collective ocean and coastal problems through the sharing of knowledge, information and technology. It has a number of publications on the website.
Abstracts and indexes journals and conference proceedings for all subject areas relevant for marine studies, such as oceanography, marine biology & ecology, fisheries, evolutionary biology, zoology, geochemistry, geophysics, remote sensing, physics, water resources, engineering, government & law.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities. NOTE: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings in many disciplines relevant to marine science, such as oceanography, ocean engineering, marine ecology, ecological modelling, evolution, climate change, environmental chemistry, geochemistry, physics, energy and political science.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences. MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.