Key resources
Key resources
Griffith University library has a wide range of resources that will help you with your studies. This guide provides a starting point for you to find relevant resources.
An excellent place to start is always the list of learning resources provided by your course convenor. You will generally find this list in your course profile.
If you are new to conducting library research in an academic setting, or new to academic writing and referencing, there are self-paced online tutorials available to help you. Links are provided on this page.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
For background information on your topic, or to check a definition, use a dictionary or encyclopaedia. All the examples below are available online.
A dictionary of biologyThis dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry. It includes biographies of key scientists, and feature articles on important topics, such as bioinformatics, genetically modified organisms, microarray technology, and RNA interference. The dictionary’s chronologies chart developments in major fields including cell biology, genetics, microscopy, and vitamins. A new feature is the inclusion of entry-level web links.
A dictionary of zoologyComplemented with numerous illustrations, it includes terms from the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology and it provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.
Encyclopedia of life sciencesPublication Date: updated monthlySpanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, eLS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,700 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field.
Encyclopedia of life support systemsPublication Date: updated monthlyNote: 1 simultaneous user limit.
An integrated, interdisciplinary compendium of 20 on-line encyclopedias, including the Encyclopedia of Biological, Physiological and Health Sciences and the Encyclopedia of Biotechnology.
Related guides
-
Biomedical and biomolecular sciences
by Kylie Pay Last Updated May 9, 2023 423 views this year
-
Chemical Sciences
by Kylie Pay Last Updated May 9, 2023 174 views this year
-
Marine Science
by Kylie Pay Last Updated May 9, 2023 336 views this year
