Books
Search tips
The best way to find books and ebooks on your topic is to search the library's collection using Library Catalogue. Additionally, you may like to search or browse one of the ebook collections listed below.
If you wish to browse the library catalogue or the library shelves, some subject headings and call number ranges are also suggested on this page.
ebook collections
-
ProQuest Ebook Central
A cross searchable multidisciplinary database of e-books featuring publications from major academic publishers.
-
ENVIROnetBASE
E-book collection covering all aspects of environmental science, including pollution reduction, emissions, environmental assessment and contamination, and remediation.
-
Knovel
Collection of handbooks, datasets and reference sources in applied science, technology and engineering.
-
Springer Nature LinkAccess Springer journals, books and other publications in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.
Reference books
-
A dictionary of biology
This dictionary reflects recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with expansion to the areas of ecology, cell biology, and plant and animal development. Numerous appendices include classifications of the animal and plant kingdoms, SI units, Nobel prize winners, and a new appendix on anatomical terms. -
Encyclopedia of cell biology
Provides broad coverage of the field in molecular, organizational, functional, translational and pathological aspects of cell biology. -
Encyclopedia of evolutionary biology
The definitive go-to reference in the field of evolutionary biology. Broad topics include the history of evolutionary biology, population genetics, quantitative genetics; speciation, life history evolution, evolution of sex and mating systems, evolutionary biogeography, evolutionary developmental biology, molecular and genome evolution, coevolution, phylogenetic methods, microbial evolution, diversification of plants and fungi, diversification of animals, and applied evolution. -
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology
The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.
-
Global Compendium of WeedsThe Global Compendium of Weeds is a list of plant species (over 28,000 names) that have been cited in specific references (approximately 1,000) as weeds
-
Index HerbariumThere are approximately 3,400 herbaria in the world today, with approximately 10,000 associated curators and biodiversity specialists. Collectively the world's herbaria contain an estimated 350,000,000 specimens that document the earth's vegetation for the past 400 years. Index Herbariorum is a guide to this crucial resource for biodiversity science and conservation. The Index Herbariorum (IH) entry for an herbarium includes its physical location, Web address, contents (e.g., number and type of specimens), history, and names, contact information and areas of expertise of associated staff.
-
Index Nominum GenericorumA compilation of generic names published for organisms
covered by the ICN: International Code of Nomenclature for Algae, Fungi, and Plants.
-
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Comprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.
