Library guides: Biology: Articles and journals

Articles and journals

Key journal databases

ProQuest

Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
PubMed
Search for journal articles and other publications relating to the biomedical and life sciences. Includes details of articles indexed in MEDLINE and selected full text articles from PubMed Central.

Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this database was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
MOBILE ACCESS: Connect to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)

Find the details of journal articles and other publications across the biomedical and life sciences. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.

MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is one of the foremost databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. MEDLINE provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
Annual Reviews

Journal articles reviewing the principle research each year in biomedical, physical and social sciences disciplines.
Web of Science

Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. It includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
BMJ Journals Online

Medical journals covering all aspects of health and evidence-based practice.

A collection of 27 online medical journals produced by the BMJ Publishing Group. Full-text for the majority of titles is available from 1997.
ClinicalKey (Elsevier)

Evidence based clinical summaries and guidelines, patient education resources, journal articles, ebooks, videos and drug information for all healthcare and medical disciplines.

Other helpful databases

ScienceDirect

Multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal article database, with full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
ConnectSci (CSIRO Publishing)
Research by leading Australian and overseas scientists covering science, biological, environmental and agricultural areas.
Health and Medical collection (ProQuest)

Journal articles about health care, medicine and biomedical topics including consumer health and health administration.
Gale Research Complete

Includes access to journal articles, newspapers, reference material, audio content and ebooks across multiple disciplines. It also includes access to Gale Primary Sources.
This collection includes access to:
- Archives Unbound
- Gale Academic OneFile
- Gale Business: Insights
- Gale eBooks
- Gale General OneFile
- Gale Literature Criticism
- Gale Literature Resource Center
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Gale Literature: LitFinder
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
- Gale Literature: Something About the Author
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series
- Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
- Gale OneFile: News.
Gale OneFile: Australia and New Zealand

Provides access to full-text content from magazines, journals, news, and multimedia sources across multiple disciplines. Covering important issues and current events related to Australia and New Zealand.

Journal of Biological Chemistry
Open access (freely available) refereed journal. Publishes original articles in the fields of biochemistry, molecular biology, cell, and biotechnology.

e-journals

Australian biologist
Published by the Australian Institute of Biology
Genetics
Official publication of the Genetics Society of America

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to find journal articles.