Biology

The ABRS is a Program within Parks Australia Division of the Department of the Environment. ABRS strives to answer three questions: What plants, animals and other organisms occur in Australia? Where are they found? How can we provide that information to you?

The Atlas of Living Australia is the Australian node of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)

This is a free online public enquiry database that provides taxonomic and biological information on the Australian fauna. The database is constantly being updated and expanded with addition of new data sets. At present about 84 percent of described species are listed in the Australian Faunal Directory.

The Centre for Australian National Biodiversity Research (CANBR) includes the Australian National Herbarium. These are jointly managed by CSIRO and the Director of National Parks with strong links to the Australian National Botanic Gardens. The Herbarium, with over 1.2 million specimens, is responsible for the scientific integrity of the Gardens' plant labeling and manages the national plant name lists for Australia's botanical community.
One single database, the Integrated Botanical Information System (IBIS), is used for all these activities. This allows linking of names, photographs, herbarium specimens and living plants.

The Australian weeds website brings together information on noxious weeds and weeds management at the national level. It links to information and services on Australian Government and selected state and territory web sites.

The Cooperative Research Centre for the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area (incorporated as CRC Reef Research Centre Ltd) is a knowledge-based partnership of coral reef managers, researchers and industry. CRC Reef provides research solutions to protect, conserve and restore the world's coral reefs by ensuring industries and management are sustainable and that ecosystem quality is maintained.

The Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS) is a leader in tropical marine science committed to the protection and sustainable use of Australia's marine resources.

Includes Fisheries, Marine reserves, Marine bio regional plans, Marine species, Marine pollution, Great Barrier Reef, International activities and Marine publications and resources

EMBL-EBI provides freely available data from life science experiments, performs basic research in computational biology and offers an extensive user training programme, supporting researchers in academia and industry.

The Bioinformatics Organization, Inc. serves the scientific and educational needs of bioinformatic practitioners and the general public. They develop and maintain computational resources to facilitate world-wide communications and collaborations between people of all educational and professional levels and provide and promote open access to the materials and methods required for, and derived from, research, development and education.

The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium

an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan

Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

U.S National Center for Biotechnology Information taxonomy database contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence.

Collaborative international service providing information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their history, and characteristics.

VIREO (Visual Resources for Ornithology) is the world-wide bird photograph collection of The Academy of Natural Sciences. With more than 160,000 photographs representing over 7,000 species VIREO is the world's most comprehensive collection of ornithological images

International consortium providing two searchable databases: FishBase and LarvalBase. It aims to contain all fish species known to science. FishBase was developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations ( FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission ( EC)

Freely accessible website produced by the US National Library of Medicine with extensive information on over 950 diseases and conditions.

Provide links to online information on cell and molecular biology.

Online 3D molecular visualization technologies recommended by the University of Massachusetts.

Periodic Table of the elements providing electronic properties, physical and chemical properties, crystallograhy, and nuclear property information.

The set of rules and recommendations dealing with the formal botanical names that are given to plants, fungi and algae. This is the online version of the Vienna Code as adopted in 2005. A new International Code of Nomenclature for algae, fungi, and plants (ICN) was ratified in 2011 but is not yet available online.

The International Code of Zoological Nomenclature is a set of rules for the naming of animals and the resolution of nomenclatural problems.

Recommendations on biochemical & organic nomenclature, symbols & terminology. Includes full-text documents from the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) and the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB).

Popularly referred to as the "Gold Book", this is one of the series of IUPAC "Colour Books" on chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units (see the list of source documents), and collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations already published in Pure and Applied Chemistry and in the other Colour Books.

Vadlo is an academic, open-access, free search engine. Search within five categories: Protocols, Online Tools, Seminars, Databases and Software