Library guides: Environmental Science: Get started

Get started

You can't get by without...

Web of Science
This multidisciplinary database abstracts and indexes articles from journals in science and technology, the social sciences, the arts and humanities. Virtually all subject disciplines are covered to some degree. The database also includes details of the references that are cited in the articles.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of journals that include the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.

MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
CSIRO Journals
Journals presenting the latest research by leading Australian and international scientists and covering a broad range of subjects in biological, environmental and agricultural sciences.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including content on climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
An index database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
MOBILE ACCESS: EBSCOhost is optimised for mobile use and has an iPhone/iPad and Android app available.
Environmental Studies (Alexander Street Press)
Environmental Studies in Video is an online collection designed to address the needs of one of the fastest growing academic fields.

FishBase
A web based information database on the biology of fishes. FishBase provides information on fish biology, including descriptions of morphology, metabolism, gill area, brain size, eye pigment, swimming speed, diet, tropic levels, predators, genetic traits and allele frequencies, fish distribution including population dynamics by country, and fish taxonomy.
ENVIRO netBASE e-books
ENVIRO netBASE provides access to over 1000 full text handbooks and manuals covering all aspects of environmental science published by CRC Press.
WATER netBASE e-books
Comprehensive multidiscipline resource providing access to reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands.