Library guides: Engineering: Get started

Get started

Search for Engineering resources in the Library Catalogue

You can't get by without...

Knovel
Collection of handbooks, datasets and reference sources in applied science, technology and engineering.
IEEE Xplore
Access journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.
IEL provides access to more than 1.7 million full-text searchable conference and journal articles published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). There is a full backfile to 1988, with some content going back to 1913. All active IEEE standards are also included in the IEL subscription.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices. To access click to icon of mobile phone.
IEEE Xplore

20 simultaneous user limit.
Engineering Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for chemical, civil, electrical, environmental and mechanical engineering.
Covers all broad engineering fields, including civil engineering, engineering of railroads and roads, mining and related operations, and sanitary and municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas. NOTE: Coverage - 1973 to present.
Scopus
Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Engineering (Alexander Street Press)
Education and training in engineering providing existing and emerging engineers with the tools to respond, includes documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page self-contained electronic documents--lectures, which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. Each is authored by a prominent contributor to the field. New series and lectures are added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed.