Library guides: Engineering: Get started

Get started

Search for Engineering resources in the Library Catalogue

You can't get by without...

Scopus

Abstracts and indexes journals, books and conference proceedings for all disciplines. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research.

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It provides a Journal Analyzer tool which uses citation information to indicate impact and journal ranking. Subject areas covered are: chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
MOBILE ACCESS: iPhone and Android apps are available for SciVerse. You need to register on main site to access.
Knovel

Collection of handbooks, datasets and reference sources in applied science, technology and engineering.
Web of Science

Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.
IEEE Xplore

Access journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.

IEL provides access to more than 1.7 million full-text searchable conference and journal articles published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). There is a full backfile to 1988, with some content going back to 1913. All active IEEE standards are also included in the IEL subscription.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices. To access click to icon of mobile phone.
IEEE Xplore

20 simultaneous user limit.
ProQuest Central

Comprehensive collection of multidisciplinary journal articles across business, health, social sciences, education, science and technology, performing and visual arts and other disciplines. Includes newspapers and other resources.
Engineering Workbench by Accuris
Offers access to Australian and International Standards, including ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE standards. Search for the Standards Number or Title in the Search Box. The database also includes technical articles, journals, books, patents, patent applications, and utility models.

There is a user limit for this database. Ensure you click the blue Close button when you are finished viewing the document to allow other users to access this database.
For issues with File Open and Chrome, refer to the Accuris Help Center for instructions to adjust the settings.
To access your document, search for the Standards Number or Title in the search box. To download a document, follow How Do I Download My Documents?
Engineering Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for chemical, civil, electrical, environmental and mechanical engineering.

Covers all broad engineering fields, including civil engineering, engineering of railroads and roads, mining and related operations, and sanitary and municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas. NOTE: Coverage - 1973 to present.
Engineering (Alexander Street Press)

Education and training in engineering providing existing and emerging engineers with the tools to respond, includes documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures.