JSTOR is a fully-searchable database of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas, focusing on the arts, humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks, and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
MOBILE ACCESS: Site will automatically detect screen size and adjust accordingly. Summary of licence
An index providing authoritative information on almost 370,000 works of creative and critical Australian literature (in print and electronic sources) and on more than 60,000 Australian authors and literary organisations, from 1780 to the present day.
MOBILE ACCESS: Iphone/Ipad app available.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index is one of the citation index databases that make up the Web of Science database. It is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Literature coverage is restricted to journal articles.
MOBILE ACCESS: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
NOTE: To search Arts & Humanities Citation Index separately in Web of Science, Click click 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Arts & Humanities Citation Index' checked.
A practical, instructive, and comprehensive guide to the language of literary study, Kennedy's Handbook of Literary Terms is a reference manual that aims to demystify literature and the techniques literary scholars use.
Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature and critical debates of the period since 1945. Setting texts in their historical, political and cultural contexts, it demonstrates how literature has dealt with and been shaped by the changing face of the modern world.
A landmark anthology of Australian literary writing across all genres from over two centuries, this is an authoritative collection more than six years in the making, providing a window into Australian culture.
Draws on scholarship from leading figures in the field and spans Australian literary history from its colonial origins, as well as indigenous and migrant literatures and the role of literary culture in modern Australian society.
The Macquarie Dictionary & Thesaurus Online features easy, comprehensive and interactive searching of over 121,000 headwords and phrases and over 210,000 definitions, with the ability to search either the dictionary, thesaurus or both.
Oxford Reference is the home of Oxford’s quality reference publishing, bringing together over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, into a single cross-searchable resource. Newly relaunched with a brand new look and feel, and specifically designed to meet the needs and expectations of reference users, Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date reference content at the click of a button. Made up of two main collections, both fully integrated and cross-searchable, Oxford Reference couples Oxford’s trusted A-Z reference material with an intuitive design to deliver a discoverable, up-to-date, and expanding reference resource.
Based on the bestselling Oxford Companion to English Literature, this is an indispensable guide to all aspects of English literature. Over 4,900 new and revised A to Z entries give unrivalled coverage of writers, works, historical context, literary theory, allusions, characters, and plot summaries.
An essential guide to authors and their works that focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present. There is also some coverage of non-fiction such as biographies, memoirs, and science, as well as inclusion of major American and Commonwealth writers.