Databases and journals
Key databases
- Arts and Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Subjects covered include anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, classical studies, cultural studies, design, geography, history, literature, modern languages, music, philosophy.
- AustLit
An authoritative index providing bibliographic, biographical, critical and production information about Australian literature, authors and literary organisations. Full text is available for some works including poetry, criticism, novels, BlackWords, reviews and children's literature.
- Gale Research Complete
Includes journal articles, newspaper, reference, audio content and ebooks across multiple disciplines. Also covers primary sources.
- JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
- Literature and Culture Collection (Informit)
Offers a number of Australia’s best known literary magazines that help define Australia’s literary and cultural heritage. Created in partnership with the Australia Council for the Arts, this Collection is an essential reference database for literary studies, cultural studies and creative writing courses. NOTE: Coverage - 1940 to present.
- Literature Compass (Wiley)
Literature Compass publishes peer-reviewed articles on the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline.
- MLA International Bibliography With Full Text (EBSCOhost)
MLA International Bibliography With Full Text indexes articles covering modern languages, literatures, dramatic arts, folklore and linguistics.
- Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
Helpful databases
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. To search Arts and Humanities Citation Index separately in Web of Science, click 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Arts and Humanities Citation Index' checked.
- Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- Gale Academic OneFile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources across a wide range of subjects.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for the arts, communication, education, history, linguistics, politics and more.
Key journals
- Going down swingingGoing Down Swinging is one of Australia’s longest-running and most respected literary journals.
- Griffith reviewA quarterly of writing and ideas
- Kill Your DarlingsKill Your Darlings is one of Australia’s leading arts and culture magazines.
- MeanjinFor over 80 years, Meanjin has fostered a rich and rigorous national conversation by remaining true to its founding principles: ‘to talk poetry’, ‘to work for a healthy climate of opinion and literary activity’, and ‘to make clear the connection between art and politics.’
New Writing: The International Journal for the Practice and Theory of Creative WritingNew Writing publishes both critical and creative work - offering a forum for debate, as well as an avenue for the publication of the stories, poems, works of creative non-fiction or works for the stage or for the screen. New Writing investigates the nature of Creative Writing practice and practice-led research in Creative Writing. It publishes key articles about Creative Writing, specifically relating to Creative Writing activities in universities.- New writing : the international journal for the practice and theory of creative writingNew Writing: The International Journal for the Practice and Theory of Creative Writing is a leading international journal in the field of Creative Writing Studies and publishes both critical and creative work.
- OverlandOverland – Australia’s only radical literary magazine – has been showcasing brilliant and progressive fiction, poetry, nonfiction and art since 1954. The magazine has published some of Australia’s most iconic writers, and continues to give space to underrepresented voices and brand-new literary talent every single day.
- PoetryFounded in Chicago by Harriet Monroe in 1912, Poetry is the oldest monthly devoted to verse in the English-speaking world. Monroe's "Open Door" policy, set forth in Volume I of the magazine, remains the most succinct statement of Poetry's mission: to print the best poetry written today, regardless of style, genre, or approach.
- Southerly : the magazine of the Australian English Association, SydneyLaunched in 1939, Southerly is one of Australia’s oldest continuous literary journals. Dedicated to publishing new literature of the highest standard, Southerly provides a link between the academy and the garret.
- TEXT: Journal of Writing and Writing CoursesTEXT is an international peer reviewed journal published by the Australasian Association of Writing Programs.
Social Science Research Network
"SSRN s a world wide collaborative of over 241,000 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. SSRN supports the Open Access movement. All scholars may submit papers for free, and author-submitted content is downloadable at no charge by users worldwide."
