Databases, Journals and Journal Articles
Key Databases
Library databases contain scholarly literature such as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. Griffith subscribes to the databases listed below which are of particular relevance for Design including Industrial design. Some are relevant across the whole discipline of Design, and some for specific subsets. There are also other databases that may include relevant information for your Design studies.
- ACM Digital LibraryThe ACM Digital Library contains full-text articles from all of the journals and magazines published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) from 1991 to the latest issue plus all of the ACM conference proceedings for the same period. Over 250,000 pages of text covering all aspects of computing are available for searching.
- Art and Architecture Archive (ProQuest)
Digitized art and architecture magazines of the 20th century, covering fine and applied arts, interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening.
- Art Full Text (EBSCOhost)Full text international peer-selected publications. Subjects covered include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video.
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (ProQuest)A comprehensive international index to current design and design-related journals. Provides annotated entries from more than 500 major national and international design and craft journals published since 1973. In addition to major articles, DAAI also lists short articles, new items, conference and seminar reports, reviews of books, video, films and exhibitions, obituary notices and illustrations.
- JSTORJSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks, and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
- Project MUSEA full-text journal database which draws its content primarily from journals published by the American Universities. Disciplinary coverage of the journals is wide but focused in the arts and social sciences covering such disciplines as Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and the performing arts, history (including the history of science and medicine), literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
- ProQuestAccess journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos for all disciplines.
- SAGE Journals OnlineAccess journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
- Taylor and Francis JournalsOnline access to journals published by the Taylor & Francis Group
- Visual Arts hub (Bloomsbury)
These collections, underpinned by an overarching taxonomy, have been designed to fit together seamlessly so that access to any combination of them provides a rich experience for users of all levels. Users can enjoy a diverse range of content types including textbooks, reference, primary material, monographs, pedagogical tools and multimedia. The Bloomsbury Visual Arts hub will provide an engaging, one-stop study and research environment with the needs of both users and administrators at its heart.
Vew the Visual and Creative Arts databases we subscribe to here.
Key Journals for Design Students
Design IssuesArticles about the criticism, history and theory as they relate to the professions of design.The Design Journal
Publishes research on design management, theory, education, and practice in both cultural and commercial contexts, with direct impact on design knowledge.Journal of Interior Design
The Journal of Interior Design is a scholarly, refereed publication dedicated to a pluralistic exploration of the interior environment.Design and Culture
Publishes research on design that nurtures new or overlooked lines of inquiry and also from perspectives like social justice, exclusion, and privilege.
International Journal of DesignDevoted to publishing research papers in all fields of design, including industrial design, visual communication design, interface design, animation and game design, architectural design, urban design, and other design related fields.International Journal of Design Creativity and Innovation
Publishes theoretical and practical research to inform an interdisciplinary approach within design creativity methods, theories and processes.
Key Online Resources
- BrowZine LibraryUse BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your university
- TroveSearch to explore collections from Australian libraries, museums, galleries and archives online.
What about searching Google Scholar and being asked to pay to view an article?
If you are prompted to pay to access an article, you may have found your way to a commercial publisher's site. It is wise to check if the library provides free access to that article via one of our journal or database subscriptions. You are able to do this in Google Scholar by setting up Full Text@Griffith links in Google Scholar.
The Full Text@Griffith links appear next to a result when that item is available in full text via our Griffith library subscriptions. If you are using the Griffith network to connect to Google Scholar, these links appear automatically. Alternatively, if you are accessing Google Scholar directly on the web, you can set up the Full Text@Griffith links.
