Databases, Journals and Journal Articles
Key Databases
Library databases contain scholarly literature such as journal articles, books and conference proceedings. Griffith subscribes to the databases listed below which are of particular relevance for Visual Arts. Some are relevant across the whole discipline and some for specific subsets. There are also other databases that may include relevant information for your studies.
- Art Full Text (EBSCOhost)This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Subjects covered include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video.
- JSTORJSTOR is a fully-searchable database of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas, focusing on the arts, humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. To search Arts and Humanities Citation Index separately in Web of Science, click 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Arts and Humanities Citation Index' checked.
- ProQuestAccess journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos for all disciplines. ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
- Web of ScienceA multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
- SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
- Visual Arts hub (Bloomsbury)
These collections, underpinned by an overarching taxonomy, have been designed to fit together seamlessly so that access to any combination of them provides a rich experience for users of all levels. Users can enjoy a diverse range of content types including textbooks, reference, primary material, monographs, pedagogical tools and multimedia. The Bloomsbury Visual Arts hub will provide an engaging, one-stop study and research environment with the needs of both users and administrators at its heart.
- Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
You can view all the Visual and Creative Arts databases Griffith subscribes to here.
Key Journals for Visual Arts Students
- Art in PrintArt in Print is a nonprofit organization founded in 2011 to provide a venue for critical and scholarly writing about artist’s prints, both historical and contemporary, and to provide a central resource for print information, news, and events.
- Art JournalCovers all aspects of the visual and performing arts. Subject areas include visual arts, performing arts and theatre, applied arts, and newer media formats such as comics and video games.
- Art MonthlySince 1976 Art Monthly has consistently offered informed and highly readable coverage of the British and international art scene. Noted for the independence and quality of its features, interviews, artist profiles, reviews, news and editorials, Art Monthly remains a major forum for debate on the key issues surrounding modern and contemporary art.
- The Blue Notebook: Journal for artists’ booksEach new issue and back issue of The Blue Notebook is available as a free pdf download from this website.
- Drawing: Research, Theory, PracticeThis journal promotes and disseminates drawing research with a focus on contemporary practice and its theoretical context. It seeks to reestablish the materiality of drawing as a medium at a time when virtual, on-line, and electronic media dominates visuality and communication.
- ImprintImprint is Australia’s only quarterly art journal dedicated to contemporary printmaking, artist books and works on paper, and one of the few publications worldwide dedicated exclusively to the graphic arts.
- Journal of Visual Art PracticeCovers all aspects of fine art education.
- Printmaking todayWe continue to comment on aesthetic, educational and theoretical matters as well as bringing the reader new developments in print technology and re-assessments of traditional methods. Many of our writers are printmakers and speak from experience. Others are art historians, publishers, educationalists and suppliers of materials and equipment.
- Print QuarterlyPrint Quarterly is the leading international journal dedicated to the art of the print from its origins to the present. It is peer-reviewed. The Journal publishes recent scholarship on a wide range of topics, including printmakers, iconography, social and cultural history, popular culture, print collecting, book illustration, decorative prints, and techniques such as engraving, etching, woodcutting, lithography and digital printmaking. The Journal strives to cover Asian, Latin American and African printmaking as well as the Western tradition.
Key Online Resources
- BrowZine LibraryUse BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your university
- TroveSearch to explore collections from Australian libraries, museums, galleries and archives online.
What about searching Google Scholar and being asked to pay to view an article?
If you are prompted to pay to access an article, you may have found your way to a commercial publisher's site. It is wise to check if the library provides free access to that article via one of our journal or database subscriptions. You are able to do this in Google Scholar by setting up Full Text@Griffith links in Google Scholar.
The Full Text@Griffith links appear next to a result when that item is available in full text via our Griffith library subscriptions. If you are using the Griffith network to connect to Google Scholar, these links appear automatically. Alternatively, if you are accessing Google Scholar directly on the web, you can set up the Full Text@Griffith links.
