Get started
Key Sources
- Oxford ReferenceDefinitions and terms
- A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary ArtAn authoritative reference work containing around 2,000 clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus® OnlineProduced by The Getty Research Institute, the Art &Architecture Thesaurus provides terminology about objects, artists, concepts, important to art, architecture, and material culture.
- Oxford Art Online - Subject guidesA collection of guides to topics in the visual arts, with links to key essays and biographies as well as external resources.
- Grove Art OnlineEntire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.), updated annually; 45,000 articles, 40,000 links to art images from major galleries and museums. A handy starting point for definitions of terminology and subject overviews: architecture, design, visual arts.
- Visual Arts hub (Bloomsbury)
These collections, underpinned by an overarching taxonomy, have been designed to fit together seamlessly so that access to any combination of them provides a rich experience for users of all levels. Users can enjoy a diverse range of content types including textbooks, reference, primary material, monographs, pedagogical tools and multimedia. The Bloomsbury Visual Arts hub will provide an engaging, one-stop study and research environment with the needs of both users and administrators at its heart.
- SAGE Research MethodsSRMO is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links methods, terms and content. It provides research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across arts, humanities, the social and behavioural sciences.
Australian content
- Trove
Digital collection of Australian information including newspapers, governement gazettes, maps, magazines, newsletters, books, pictures, photographs, archived websites, music, diaries, letters, personal archives and inteviews.
