Databases and journals
Key journal databases
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. To search Arts and Humanities Citation Index separately in Web of Science, click 'Editions: All' and leave only 'Arts and Humanities Citation Index' checked.
- AustLit
An authoritative index providing bibliographic, biographical, critical and production information about Australian literature, authors and literary organisations. Full text is available for some works including poetry, criticism, novels, BlackWords, reviews and children's literature.
- Australian Heritage Bibliography (via Informit)Covers information on Australia's natural and cultural environment, including national parks, endangered species, wilderness areas, important historical and archaeological sites, historic buildings, structures and towns and is produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. NOTE: Coverage - 1987 to present.
- Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- China Academic Journals Database
Coverage from 1915. Citations and articles are mostly in Chinese characters. Includes literature, history, philosophy, politcs, law, economics, management, education and social sciences.
- Gale Academic OneFile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources across a wide range of subjects.
- History Compass (Wiley)
Collection of peer-reviewed surveys of research and current thinking in History.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for the arts, communication, education, history, linguistics, politics and more.
- Indigenous Australia (via Informit)Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library and covers Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, Stolen generation, removal of children, Arts, copyright issues, Racism, discrimination, Internet and telecommunications facilities and Communities. NOTE: Coverage - 1968 to December 2002.
- JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
- Project MUSE
Collects peer reviewed humanities and social science resources primarily published by American Universities. Discipline coverage includes arts, social sciences, Asian studies, economics, film, theatre and performing arts, history, literary studies, music, philosophy and political science.
- ProQuest Central
Comprehensive collection of multidisciplinary journal articles across business, health, social sciences, education, science and technology, performing and visual arts and other disciplines. Includes newspapers and other resources.
- SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
- Trove
Digital collection of Australian information including newspapers, governement gazettes, maps, magazines, newsletters, books, pictures, photographs, archived websites, music, diaries, letters, personal archives and inteviews.
Key journals: Scholarly peer-reviewed
- Australian Historical StudiesAustralian Historical Studies is a refereed journal covering all aspects of the history of Australia including its global context.
- History Compass"The History Compass has a distinct mission to provide peer-reviewed summaries of current research across the entire history discipline, providing topical and significant research on a monthly basis."
- History today"History Today is the world’s leading serious history magazine. We publish the world's leading scholars, on all periods, regions and themes of history."
- Journal of Australian Colonial History"The Journal of Australian Colonial History is produced and published by the School of Humanities at the University of New England (Armidale, NSW). The Journal produces one volume annually, each consisting of between seven and ten scholarly articles, plus book reviews, on a wide variety of subjects, including convict history, bushranging, Aboriginal-settler relations, nineteenth century legal and medical developments, colonial nationalism and republicanism, colonial literature, imperial history, biography, and various aspects of Australia's early social, economic and political history."
- Journal of Australian Studies"Journal of Australian Studies is a fully refereed international journal published by the University of Queensland Press on behalf of Australian Studies, Curtin University of Technology, in association with the International Australian Studies Association and the Australian Public Intellectual Network."
Journal of Global HistoryAddresses the main problems of global change over time, together with the diverse histories of globalization. It also examines counter-currents to globalization, including those that have structured other spatial units. The journal seeks to transcend the dichotomy between 'the West and the rest', straddle traditional regional boundaries, relate material to cultural and political history, and overcome thematic fragmentation in historiography.- Journal of World History"Devoted to historical analysis from a global point of view, the Journal of World History covers large-scale population movements and economic fluctuations; cross-cultural transfers of technology; the spread of infectious diseases; long-distance trade; and the spread of religious faiths, ideas, and ideals."
- Limina: a journal of historical and cultural studiesLimina is a refereed academic journal of historical and cultural studies covering all areas of humanities and social sciences with a focus on historical and cultural studies.
- Public History ReviewPublished by the Australian Centre for Public History this journal investigates the nature and forms of public history/
