Podcasts and videos
Podcasts
- A History of the World in 100 Objects
A 100 part series by Neil MacGregor, Director of the British Museum, exploring world history from two million years ago to the present - History Extra
The History Extra podcast comes out every week, featuring interviews with notable historians talking about topics ranging from crusading knights to Tudor monarchs and the D-Day landings. - In Our Time with Melvyn Bragg
A BBC podcast with Melvyn Bragg and his specialist guests discussing the history of ideas - including topics drawn from philosophy, science, history, religion and culture. - Oxford Biographies
A fortnightly biography of an intriguing individual from British history. Each episode is a biography selected from the Oxford DNB - the authoritative collection of more than 56,000 lives of men and women from around the world. - Witness History
History as told by the people who were there. Witness talks to people who lived through moments of history to bring you a personal perspective on world events. - World War One
BBC Radio brings you stories of the war that changed who we are, with documentaries exploring the causes, politics and impact of WW1 and its legacy.
Videos
- Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British EmpireThis website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies, including Australia. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword.
- American History (Alexander Street Press)
Enables research on key themes, events, and historical eras in U.S. History from the colonial period through the 21st Century. A vast collection of documentaries, newsreels, public affairs videos, and archival footage allows students and researchers to compare viewpoints and get personal and expert accounts on key topics such as the American Revolution, the Cold War, the Civil Rights movement, and the Vietnam War-and people--presidents, key leaders and activists.
- Newsreels (Alexander Street Press)
Newsreels captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century.
- World History (Alexander Street Press)
Multi-media histories of the major themes in the discipline: early encounters, war and conflict, women's activism, disease and epidemic, revolutions, and migrations.
- Australian ScreenAustralia’s audiovisual heritage online : Developed by Curriculum Corporation through The Le@rning Federation, the education collection is designed to help teachers and students make the most of the wide range of moving image resources in the National Film and Sound Archive.
- National Film and Sound ArchiveThe National Film and Sound Archive is Australia’s living archive, collecting, preserving and sharing our rich audiovisual heritage. The collection includes films, television and radio programs, videos, audio tapes, records, compact discs, phonograph cylinders, wire recordings and oral histories.
