Library guides: Journalism, communication and media studies: Databases and journals

Databases and journals

Key journal databases

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCOhost)
Covers theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.
Arts and Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Subjects covered include anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, classical studies, cultural studies, design, geography, history, literature, modern languages, music, philosophy.
AustLit
An authoritative index providing bibliographic, biographical, critical and production information about Australian literature, authors and literary organisations. Full text is available for some works including poetry, criticism, novels, BlackWords, reviews and children's literature.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Provides access to journal articles in the social sciences and humanities. Source documents include a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books. NOTE: Coverage - articles, 1995 to present ; index, 1978 to present.

Communications Law and Policy in Australia (via Lexis+)
Covering all areas of communications law, this database is being progressively updated with new commentary on telecommunications. It is written in plain language by expert authors who provide practical and detailed analysis of the laws regulating the industry, providing legislation and government documents as well as research material in the form of guidelines, policy statements and codes of practice.

Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Access journals and other publications for the arts, communication, education, history, linguistics, politics and more.
Covers Agriculture, Arts, Asian Studies, Business, Cultural Studies, Education, Health, Medicine, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Media, Political Science, Reference, Social Sciences, Science and Technology. NOTE: Coverage - 1940 to present.
Gale Research Complete
Includes access to journal articles, newspapers, reference material, audio content and ebooks across multiple disciplines. It also includes access to Gale Primary Sources.
This collection includes access to:
- Archives Unbound
- Gale Academic OneFile
- Gale Business: Insights
- Gale eBooks
- Gale General OneFile
- Gale Literature Criticism
- Gale Literature Resource Center
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Gale Literature: LitFinder
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
- Gale Literature: Something About the Author
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series
- Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
- Gale OneFile: News.
Gale OneFile: Australia and New Zealand
Provides access to full-text content from magazines, journals, news, and multimedia sources across multiple disciplines. Covering important issues and current events related to Australia and New Zealand.

Indigenous Australia (via Informit)
Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library and covers Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, Stolen generation, removal of children, Arts, copyright issues, Racism, discrimination, Internet and telecommunications facilities and Communities. NOTE: Coverage - 1968 to December 2002.

JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing ebooks and current and back issues of scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, concentrated in the arts, social sciences and humanities. JSTOR offers access to various discrete subject-based collections.
ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with access to journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and the Social Sciences. Content is from all kinds of sources like Newpapers, Dissertations and Theses, Company annual reports and Snaphots. Proquest also includes the ProQuest Central database with over 11,000 scholarly journals.
MOBILE ACCESS FOR SELECTED DATABASES ONLY: Optimised for use on mobile devices.
SAGE Journals Online
Access journals for all disciplines from SAGE Publications.
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Griffith University subscribes to the SAGE Premier package, which gives access to most, though not all, of the journals on SAGE Journals Online. SAGE's publishing focus is mainly the social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, books and proceedings for sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
A multidisciplinary journal index database which abstracts and indexes articles from some 5,100 journals in science and technology; 1,700 journals in the social sciences and 1,200 journals in the arts and humanities.
Note: The Web of Knowledge product platform has changed to the Web of Science. The collection of Citation Indexes which comprise the Web of Science - including the Arts & humanities citation index, Book citation index, Science citation index expanded and Social sciences citation index are unchanged and will now be known as the Web of Science Core Collection.

Journalism, communication and media studies

Databases and journals

Key journal databases

Key journals