News and broadcasts
News and broadcasts
- The MonthlyInterviews, debates, conversations and public lectures about Australia's key political, social and cultural issues
- The Saturday PaperThe Saturday Paper is a weekly newspaper, dedicated to narrative journalism: news, culture, and analysis, with a particular focus on Australia. Published my Schwartz Media.
Key news and current affairs databases
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowLocal and international newspapers and journals, plus global company information. A list of titles available in Factiva can be found at https://proquest.libguides.com/factiva/contentm -- IMPORTANT NOTICE: Griffith University Library’s access to the FACTIVA database will cease as of 31 December 2024. The subscription to this database will not be renewed as per the outcomes of a review of library newspaper resources. ACCESS WORLD NEWS (from Newsbank), which is accessible via the library catalogue and the library Databases A to Z listing, will now be used as the key source for Australian and Global newspapers.
- TVNews (Informit)Stream and download video of Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks. Note: Coverage 2007 to present.
- Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCOhost)Provides full text for leading Australian and New Zealand magazines, newspapers and newswires.
- Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCOhost)Covers theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.
- PressReader
Includes local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages.
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 (Gale Primary Sources)Full text searchable digital edition of the London Times . Note: Coverage 1785-2014.
Find news broadcasts
Recent television and radio broadcasts are usually freely available from the broadcaster's web site, or as podcasts via iTunes.
Older broadcasts are rarely freely available. If you are looking for news from the last few months, or years, you will need to use a news and current affairs database.
- TVNews (Informit)Stream and download video of Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks. Note: Coverage 2007 to present.
